You are here

Shenandoah

Beds/Baths

5 BR
3.5 BA
Guest Reviews
4.8421
4.8421 (19 guest reviews)

Location

Age 18 and under.

Occupancy

Sleeps 10

Bedding

BR 1 - M.B. with king bed and full bath with garden tub (main floor)
BR 2 - Queen bed (upper level)
BR 3 - Full bed (upper level)
BR 4 - Full bed (upper level)
BR 5 - Two twin beds (upper level)

Description

Completed in April 2003, this timber-frame home has a large open floor plan with vaulted ceilings. The home is lavishly decorated with unique antique furnishings and details. It also has all the modern conveniences and nice views of the surrounding mountains. HOUSE LAYOUT: Main floor: kitchen, living room with wood fireplace, dining room, half bath, master bedroom with king bed, full bath with garden tub and screened porch. Upstairs: BR with queen, BR with full, BR with full, BR with two twins, 2 shared full baths (Jack & Jill bathrooms between 2 bedrooms).Has a shared driveway. Linens (sheets and towels) ARE provided for your convenience.
PLEASE NOTE: central air on main floor and newly added (August 2015) highly efficient mini-split air and heat units on 2nd floor.

Dogs less than 50lbs are welcome with an additional pet fee.

Amenities

Living

  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • Wireless Internet (Wifi)
  • Fireplace
  • Pet Friendly
  • Groups allowed
  • King size bed
  • Easy Entry
  • Wood Fireplace

Outdoor

  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Charcoal Grill
  • View

Geographic

  • Close to Town
  • Private

Convenience

  • Area FitnessCenter
  • Nearby Medical Services
  • Nearby Grocery
  • Outlet Shopping
  • Golf Course

Entertainment

  • Cable TV
  • DVD Player

FAQ

WHAT IS YOUR REFUND/CANCELLATION POLICY?

If you need to cancel your reservation and the property you had reserved re-rents for the time which you had it reserved, you will be refunded all money you had paid minus a $75 cancellation fee. If you cancel and the property does not re-rent for your reserved dates, you will lose all money you have paid to that point. For this reason, we recommend that you purchase trip insurance . Please call 888-228-8008 before making a reservation if you have questions or concerns.

WHAT IS YOUR PET POLICY AND FEE?

Shenandoah is specified as "pet friendly" and dogs are allowed. Unfortunately, due to common allergy problems we cannot allow cats. For the privilege of bringing your dog, there is a minimum charge of $100 nonrefundable fee per pet. A maximum of two dogs are allowed unless you have received special permission from the property manager or homeowner. Any damage that may be caused by your pet during your stay will be paid for out of your security deposit or charged to the credit card we have on file. There is a county-wide leash law in place. When taking your dog outside of a gated area, please ensure that they are on a leash. 

WHAT ARE CHECK-IN/CHECK OUT TIMES?

Check-in time is 4pm and check out time is 10am. It is important that we adhere to these times, because there is a chance that someone else will be checking out/in before or after you and we need sufficient time to ready the house for the next renter. If you wish to check-in early, there is a $50 early check-in fee that can be added on to your reservation. Early check-in is only available if someone is not checking out on the morning of your arrival. Early check-in is not available during the summer conference season. 

WHERE DO WE CHECK-IN/PICK UP KEYS?

Shenandoah has a keyless entry system. You will receive a unique access code within 3 days of your arrival, allowing you to go straight to the house and check-in starting at 4pm.

WHAT IF THERE IS AN EMERGENCY DURING OUR STAY?

If you are having a medical emergency, dial 911 from the phone in your rental home or cell phone.

We hope that your stay in the area will be relaxing and without incident, but should you need to get in touch with Greybeard, we have someone on call 24 hours a day. Just call our office at 828-669-1072 and dial extension 203, which will forward to the cell phone of the person on call. Please do not hesitate to call us if something needs immediate attention, but if your question or concern can wait, we ask that you call the office during normal office hours.

WHEN IS THE SECURITY DEPOSIT REFUNDED?

Security deposits are returned within 30 days of guest departure.

WILL THERE BE FIREWOOD AT THE HOUSE?

Shenandoah has a wood burning fireplace for guests to use. Firewood is not supplied by Greybeard. Some houses will have a small supply of firewood for renter use; however, it is best to purchase your own small bundle of wood or Duraflame pressed logs at the local grocery store. If your rental home has an operable wood fireplace or wood stove, you can purchase our Guest Services Firewood Bundle package and have firewood and fire-starting materials awaiting you upon your arrival from October through the winter months. 

Cutting branches, limbs or trees on the property is strictly prohibited. You can use limbs found on the ground. Absolutely NO fires are permitted outside unless the property is fitted with a fire ring/fire pit, which is not provided at Shenandoah. You cannot bring your own portable fire pit. 

IS WIFI SERVICE INCLUDED WITH MY RENTAL RESERVATION? WILL I HAVE CELL PHONE SERVICE AT MY RENTAL?

Wifi is available at Shenandoah. Please note that Greybeard Rentals does not guarantee internet connectivity or speed. Each individual homeowner contracts directly with an internet service provider, and due to a variety of reasons, Greybeard does not guarantee service. Our Black Mountain and Asheville offices have wifi service available if needed.

Cell phone service is not guaranteed. You may check with your service provider to see if service is available.

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Location

Get Directions

Reviews

A Hit for our Warren Wilson Graduation Celebration

Reviewed on 2019-05-12 by
Updated on 2019-05-12
Review of stay from 2019-05-09 to 2019-05-12
Overall Satisfaction
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Shenandoah is well appointed, comfortable and the kitchen supplies were fully stocked. Our stay was a delight! Thank you for having us.

Light switch labels were really helpful.

I Adore This Home ❣️

Reviewed on 2019-02-20 by from Monroe, NC United States
Updated on 2019-02-20
Review of stay from 2019-01-27 to 2019-02-03
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We have stayed at this home about 4 times now.... We love this home❣️❣️
There is nothing more that I can say..... We Love This Home❣️❣️❣️
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great! I'm glad you were pleased!

Wells and Jenkins Family Christmas in Montreat!

Reviewed on 2018-12-27 by from Gilbert, SC United States
Updated on 2018-12-27
Review of stay from 2018-12-21 to 2018-12-25
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Beautiful home in a lovely community. Perfect location and accommodations for our family of 10. We want to make this an annual tradition! Thank you, Graybeard for the Christmas touches in this home.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Sounds like a great stay! Thanks for your feedback.

Wonderful!

Reviewed on 2018-11-06 by from Palm Bay, FL United States
Updated on 2018-11-06
Review of stay from 2018-11-01 to 2018-11-04
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had an amazing time here. The Cabin was incredibly well equipped. We had trouble finding the driveway at first (in the dark) and the house wasn't easy to identify in the dark but that would be the ONLY downside. We were informed ahead of time that the oven was not functioning which was a bit of a bummer considering we were planning on cooking, but we were able to work around this and Greybeard was very considerate about informing us. Instructions were clear throughout the home as well, as far as how to prepare for checkout and what light switches controlled which lights. The house and views were gorgeous, clean, and accommodating. The trails surrounding the house were great for dog walking (our overheated florida dogs had a BLAST!). The location was lovely and I will definitely plan another stay in the future.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry the oven wasn't functional during your stay. Thanks for your understanding as we resolved the issue. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Family trip to the mountains

Reviewed on 2018-10-28 by from Raleigh, NC United States
Updated on 2018-10-28
Review of stay from 2018-10-18 to 2018-10-22
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Two of my sisters, their spouses, my husband and I, and another couple spent four nights at Shenandoah. The house was spotless and exactly as described. It is quite charming and comfortable for a group. We had hoped to stay in Asheville but the house we selected fell through and we selected this house in Montreat. It was a very different experience but we all enjoyed staying in a more rural area. I would definitely recommend Shenandoah and Greybeard to friends. I hope to return myself!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm sorry that the original home didn't work out, but so glad everything was to your liking! Shenandoah is a wonderful home! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best family vacation ever!

Reviewed on 2018-09-06 by from Austin, TX United States
Updated on 2018-09-06
Review of stay from 2018-08-27 to 2018-09-03
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
I called Greybeard Rentals months ago after looking at numerous rental houses in the Asheville area online. The staff there was excellent. She steered me to Shenandoah in Montreat and it exceeded all expectations. I had a long list of requirements - beds and baths for my husband and I and 2 adult children; near fishing; near hiking; private and quiet. She gave us all that in a beautiful house inside and out as well as proximity to great restaurants and shops in Black Mountain. We all had a truly outstanding experience. So good we have already booked for next year!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Happy to hear you were pleased with our service and that Shenandoah exceeded all of your expectations! Great to hear we will get to welcome you back next year!

Perfect

Reviewed on 2018-08-03 by from Raleigh, NC United States
Updated on 2018-08-03
Review of stay from 2018-07-21 to 2018-07-28
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Great week , 4 generations under one roof,had everything we needed & more ,
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Wonderful to hear this! Thanks for letting us know.

Montreat Youth Conference

Reviewed on 2018-07-02 by from Wilmington, NC United States
Updated on 2018-07-02
Review of stay from 2018-06-09 to 2018-06-16
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Used this home for a group of high school students attending the Montreat Youth Conference
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great! Glad you enjoyed the time at Shenandoah and in Montreat.

Great spot for large group!

Reviewed on 2018-01-07 by from Nashville, TN United States
Updated on 2018-01-07
Review of stay from 2018-01-02 to 2018-01-05
Overall Satisfaction
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4
Thank you!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear this! Thanks for leaving a review.

In Montreal to celebrate brother's birthday with family & friends

Reviewed on 2017-11-15 by from Jamestown, NC United States
Updated on 2017-11-15
Review of stay from 2017-11-09 to 2017-11-12
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We found the house at 103 Shenandoah to be perfect for a group. It is in a great location, has everything needed for a comfortable stay. Dealing with Greybeard Realty is a joy, that's why we used them in October and November 2017. We will return!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thank you for your compliments! I'm glad you had a nice stay. Thank you!

Wonderful Trip to the Mountains!

Reviewed on 2017-11-05 by from Carrollton , Georgia United States
Updated on 2017-11-05
Review of stay from 2017-10-28 to 2017-11-02
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
My family and I had a wonderful trip to Asheville and the mountains! We absolutely loved this home! The home was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The beds were so comfortable and we had a great view of the mountains from the living area. There was a nice walking trail for my dogs also. The home is in an ideal location and is only a 15-20 minute drive to Asheville. We loved the Montreat/Black Mountain area also. We would definitely stay here again!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
This sounds like a really nice time. I'm glad you all enjoyed the stay at Shenandoah. We would love to welcome you back!

Shenandoah, Momtreat,MC

Reviewed on 2017-10-18 by from Selma, NC United States
Updated on 2017-10-18
Review of stay from 2017-10-11 to 2017-10-15
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This house was great for our group ! We enjoyed our stay. It was clean and very uniquely decorated we enjoyed sitting on the deck and screened in porch
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great! That's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time at Shenandoah. Thanks for your feedback.

Family Vacation

Reviewed on 2017-10-12 by from Birmingham, AL United States
Updated on 2017-10-12
Review of stay from 2017-10-06 to 2017-10-10
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
We loved our experience at Shenandoah. It had all the little extras and our family was very comfortable. The driveway was a little scary at first; but once we got used to it everything was fine.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm glad you were comfortable at Shenandoah and enjoyed your experience! Thanks for letting us know how your family vacation went.

Nice house overall

Reviewed on 2017-08-08 by from Wilmington, NC United States
Updated on 2017-08-08
Review of stay from 2017-07-29 to 2017-08-05
Overall Satisfaction
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
Great house in general. The semi steep driveway could be better marked with lights or reflector poles. The house has nice amenities, great A/C, den & decks.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Good all around! Glad you were pleased with Shenandoah and the available amenities. We appreciate your feedback. I'm going to pass along your note about the lights or reflector poles. Update 8/21: The owner listened to your feedback and has added reflector poles. Thanks!

Great location and house

Reviewed on 2017-07-31 by from Tarboro, NC United States
Updated on 2017-07-31
Review of stay from 2017-07-15 to 2017-07-22
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The house was wonderful, secluded but not out of the way. Very quiet and you had everything you needed--lots of room, a grill, walking to/from Montreat and lots of great hiking--access was below the house so that was awesome.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Good. I'm glad you were pleased with your stay at Shenandoah! What a great home. Thanks for staying with us!

A beautiful and relaxing escape

Reviewed on 2017-04-17 by from Toronto, ON United States
Updated on 2017-04-17
Review of stay from 2017-04-01 to 2017-04-08
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We loved our stay at Shenandoah house in Montreat. Twenty-two adults down from Canada on a spring cycling tripeight of us in this house. Shenandoah was spacious enough to not to feel on top of each other and provide privacy and quite spaces when needed. The deck overlooking the hill and river was the perfect place to relax and/or socialize and we all loved everything about the convenience of Black Mountain groceries, restaurants, coffee shops. Everyone we met was so friendly and the staff at Grey Beard went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We were all so impressed and many are keen to return.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great choice in choosing to stay at Shenandoah! I'm glad you enjoyed the time there while on your spring cycling trip (all the way from Canada!) and working with us here at Greybeard. Come back anytime.

great vacation get away

Reviewed on 2017-04-03 by from Bradenton, FL United States
Updated on 2017-04-03
Review of stay from 2017-03-22 to 2017-03-29
Overall Satisfaction
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4
we had a wonderful trip. The home was lovely very bright and airy. The location was very convenient to nearby attractions. We had great weather. The home was very well equipped for everything we needed. On arrival we were welcomed by information and a home made bread. They are only two things that I would like to mention. 1. we were given a code to enter the property which was convenient but we never heard from the rental company. A courtesy phone call would have been nice. 2. the kitchen was well supplied but the pans need to be updated the bottoms are rounded which makes it hard to cook with.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Hello! Sounds like a wonderful stay at Shenandoah. We call all renters the week of arrival and usually leave a voicemail if we don't reach you... I'm sorry that we didn't connect before the stay. Our apologies. The owners are planning to replace the pans. Thanks for the helpful feedback and for staying with us.

Wonderful Family Thanksgiving

Reviewed on 2016-12-15 by from Black Mountain, NC United States
Updated on 2016-12-15
Review of stay from 2016-11-23 to 2016-11-27
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
My extended family loved being at Shenandoah. It worked for the elderly grandparents (easy to get in- no steps) as well as the children. Toys were already there to play with! The kitchen was well equipped. The 5 bedrooms/4.5 baths were perfect. We hope to do it again!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great! I'm glad that Shenandoah met everyone's expectations and that you were all pleased with your choice as a Thanksgiving gathering place!

Wonderful 4 generation family vacation

Reviewed on 2015-07-31 by from Raleigh, NC United States
Updated on 2015-07-31
Review of stay from 2015-07-17 to 2015-07-25
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
Relaxing, fun, crazy ( twin 15 month old twins) lazy in a good way
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Glad you had a good, relaxing vacation at Shenandoah. Come back and stay with Greybeard soon!