You are here

Grandview Lodge

Beds/Baths

4 BR
4.5 BA
Guest Reviews
4.9500
4.9500 (20 guest reviews)

Location

  • Old Fort
Age 18 and under.

Occupancy

Sleeps 8

Bedding

BR 1 - Master with King Bed & full bath (main level)
BR 2 - King Bed with bath (upper level)
BR 3 - King Bed with bath (upper level)
BR 4 - Set of bunk bed, trundle bunk bed set - 5 twins total (ground level)
Extra - Double sleeper

Description

Enjoy views of Grandfather Mountain from the 7 person hot tub under the covered deck. Grandview Lodge offers spectacular mountain views in a gated residential nature preserve. Featuring 4 bedrooms, 4.5 baths, gourmet kitchen, and lots of parking, its perfect for a family get together. The large dining table even seats 10! Relax upstairs while the kids enjoy the 9' pool table, ping pong, air hockey, foosball, and 70" HDTV in the lower rec level. They even have their own kitchenette! Enjoy the warmth of 2 stone fireplaces and all natural architecture or wind down in the claw foot tub. The main level also includes two 50 inch HDTV's with surround sound, Blu-ray, and HD satellite with streaming. The entire house music system includes Sonos for streaming music. Also enjoy wireless high speed internet.

HOUSE LAYOUT: Ground level - game room, kitchenette, bedroom with regular set of bunks and trundle bunk bed set and full bath.
Main level - Living room, dining room, kitchen, wet bar, half bath, Master with King and full bath. There are two 50 inch HDTV's with surround sound, Blu-ray, and HD satellite with streaming. The entire house music system includes Sonos for streaming music. Also enjoy wireless high speed internet.
Upper level: loft with double sleeper sofa, two bedrooms with Kings and full futons with private baths.
There is a wonderful 7 person hot tub under the covered deck.

Grandview is in Gateway Mountain (only 10 minutes off I-40) which is at the center of lots of great mountain adventures. Discover Gateway's own waterfall park and beautiful Lake George, both about 15 minutes away within the neighborhood. Great hiking can be found at Catawba Falls- 15 minutes, Chimney Rock-30 minutes, or the amazing Linville Gorge, about 45 minutes away. Enjoy shopping in Black Mountain-20 minutes, Lake Lure- 30 minutes, Asheville- 45 minutes, or Hendersonville-45 minutes. Biltmore House is 50 minutes to the west and don't miss Apple Valley during apple season, only 35 minutes south. If that's not enough, the Blue Ridge Parkway is only 30 minutes away for its beautiful drives. In the evenings, wind down on the huge deck with its unbelievable views of the Blue Ridge. There is a nicely paved driveway, during winter weather 4WD is recommended for the gravel roads of Gateway, other times 2WD should be fine. For first time arrival, it's best to arrive during daylight hours.

PLEASE NOTE:
1. GRANDVIEW REQUIRES A 3 NIGHT MINIMUM STAY.
2. For security reasons, there is an OUTDOOR security camera at the corner of the home.

Amenities

Living

  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • Wireless Internet (Wifi)
  • Fireplace
  • Groups allowed
  • King size bed
  • Log/Timber Cabin
  • Fireplace (gas logs)

Outdoor

  • Deck
  • Hot Tub
  • View
  • Nearby Waterfall

Geographic

  • Secluded
  • Private

Entertainment

  • Cable TV
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room

FAQ

WHERE IS THIS HOUSE LOCATED?

Grandview Lodge is located in Old Fort. This home is approximately 20 minutes to Black Mountain, 25 minutes to Marion, and approximately 40 minutes to Asheville. Click on the location tab above to locate this house on a map.

WHAT IS YOUR REFUND/CANCELLATION POLICY?

If you need to cancel your reservation and the property you had reserved re-rents for the time which you had it reserved, you will be refunded all money you had paid minus an $89 cancellation fee. If you cancel and the property does not re-rent for your reserved dates, you will lose all money you have paid to that point. For this reason, we recommend that you purchase trip insurance. Please call 888-228-8008 before making a reservation if you have questions or concerns.

WHAT IS YOUR PET POLICY AND FEE?

Grandview Lodge is not “pet friendly”. Please be respectful of those owners who, because of allergies or other personal reasons, have chosen not to allow any pets. If housekeeping notes that a pet was present on a non-pet friendly property during your visit, you will be charged a minimum of $600 to clean carpets, upholstered furniture and complete air purification measures. Bringing a pet to a house that is not pet-friendly without owner consent or permission from Greybeard is grounds for termination of the rental agreement without refund. If you must travel with your pet, please contact us for local boarding recommendations. More info about service animals and the ADA is available here.

WHAT ARE CHECK-IN/CHECK OUT TIMES?

Check-in time is 4pm and check out time is 10am. It is important that we adhere to these times, because there is a chance that someone else will be checking out/in before or after you and we need sufficient time to ready the house for the next renter. If you wish to check-in early, there is a $50 early check-in fee that can be added on to your reservation. Early check-in is only available if someone is not checking out on the morning of your arrival.

WHERE DO WE CHECK-IN/PICK UP KEYS?

Grandview Lodge is located in a gated community. You must go to our Old Fort Office at 78 D Catawba Ave. to pick up your gate card. Driving directions to our Old Fort Office, along with access instructions will be sent out via email. Once you have picked up your gate card, you can proceed to the house. Please do not rely on GPS. We will provide you with driving directions to Grandview Lodge from our Old Fort Office.

Timber Hideaway has a keyless entry system. You will receive a unique access code within 3 days of your arrival.

WHAT IF THERE IS AN EMERGENCY DURING OUR STAY?

If you are having a medical emergency, dial 911 from the phone in your rental home or cell phone.

We hope that your stay in the area will be relaxing and without incident, but should you need to get in touch with Greybeard, we have someone on call 24 hours a day. Just call our office at 828-669-1072 and dial extension 203, which will forward to the cell phone of the person on call. Please do not hesitate to call us if something needs immediate attention, but if your question or concern can wait, we ask that you call the office during normal office hours.

WHEN IS THE SECURITY DEPOSIT REFUNDED?

Security deposits are returned within 30 days of guest departure.

WHEN ARE HOMES WITH GAS LOGS IN OPERATION?

Grandview Lodge has a gas logs fireplace for guests to use. Gas logs are not in operation May through September due to the warmer summer months. 

Absolutely NO fires are permitted outside unless the property is fitted with a fire ring/fire pit, which is not provided at Grandview Lodge. You cannot bring your own portable fire pit. 

IS WIFI SERVICE INCLUDED WITH MY RENTAL RESERVATION? WILL I HAVE CELL PHONE SERVICE AT MY RENTAL?

Wifi is available at Grandview Lodge. Please note that Greybeard Rentals does not guarantee internet connectivity or speed. Each individual homeowner contracts directly with an internet service provider, and due to a variety of reasons, Greybeard does not guarantee service. Our Black Mountain and Asheville offices have wifi service available if needed.

Cell phone service is not guaranteed. You may check with your service provider to see if service is available.

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Location

Get Directions

Reviews

Wonderful Time at Grandview

Reviewed on 2019-06-14 by
Updated on 2019-06-14
Review of stay from 2019-06-07 to 2019-06-14
Overall Satisfaction
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house was great and the views were beautiful!

Family Vacation 2018

Reviewed on 2018-09-11 by from Mantua, OH United States
Updated on 2018-09-11
Review of stay from 2018-08-26 to 2018-08-31
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We just overall loved this cabin. The views from the cabin are amazing. The cabin was very clean and the kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need to cook any type of meals. Their description of the cabin was spot on and met all of our expectations. We were able to do all the things we wanted to do from this location. Great time was had by our family and many great memories made here. I highly recommend the Grandview Lodge and their management company Graybeard Rentals. Hoping to get back sometime in the near future.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great! Glad you enjoyed the time there at Grandview.

Outstanding!

Reviewed on 2018-09-07 by from Delaware, OH United States
Updated on 2018-09-07
Review of stay from 2017-10-01 to 2017-10-08
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
My entire family loved this home and enjoyed all that it had to offer! The game room was a huge hit with adults and grandchildren alike! The views are spectacular! Coffee on the deck in the morning is the best and the starry nights with my grandchildren talking about the stars were priceless!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Grandview last year!

Summer Getaway

Reviewed on 2018-07-24 by from Friendsville, TN United States
Updated on 2018-07-24
Review of stay from 2018-07-18 to 2018-07-22
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
5
Great Experience
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Good to hear that your experience at Grandview Lodge was enjoyable!

Obsesssssed!

Reviewed on 2018-01-04 by from Vero Beach, FL United States
Updated on 2018-01-04
Review of stay from 2017-12-29 to 2018-01-02
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had an amazing time! This house is THE BEST!! Set up beautifully, fully stocked with everything you would possibly need in the kitchen, and a view to kill! We spend NYE weekend at Grandview and it did not disappoint! The house was so comfortable, the basement was a blast for all the big kids but also allowed for "loud" play in the basement while the babies slept on the top floor! The drive to the cabin (more like chalet), was very steep so prepare if you are visiting during snow and icy times. We were trapped for a day....oh darn. Thanks for a great was amazing!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Sounds like a great fit for your group! I'm glad you enjoyed the time and weathered the surprise ice storm we have a little notice when that time of weather event is going to happen, but didn't this time! So glad you made the most of the day! - Greybeard Rentals

November 2017

Reviewed on 2017-11-14 by from Cutler Bay, FL United States
Updated on 2017-11-14
Review of stay from 2017-11-05 to 2017-11-12
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
This cabin was amazing! We really enjoyed how spacious it was and the game room in the basement was fantastic.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Grandview is a great cabin! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time there. Thanks! -Greybeard Rentals

Family Get-together in the Mountains

Reviewed on 2017-10-25 by from Port Orange, FL United States
Updated on 2017-10-25
Review of stay from 2017-10-19 to 2017-10-23
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We have nothing but good things to say about our rental experience. The rental staff was very professional and friendly. They were very timely on sending information needed for the stay. We were all in awe of the cabin, from it's spaciousness, coziness, the accommodations, the yummy banana bread left for us, and the fun game room. We enjoyed every minute spent there. We all left with memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Wonderful. Thank you for your kind compliments. I'm so glad you made some great memories at Grandview Lodge! - Greybeard Rentals

Mom's 70th Birthday

Reviewed on 2017-09-19 by from Medina, OH United States
Updated on 2017-09-19
Review of stay from 2017-09-14 to 2017-09-17
Overall Satisfaction
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4
Beautiful home with an amazing view. Game room was a big hit with the kids. Coffee on the porch in the morning watching the sun rise was spectacular. A family get away that reminded me how much we love to spend time together and home that gave us the perfect space to reconnect.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
What a great occasion to celebrate! I'm glad you had a nice stay with us at Grandview Lodge.

6th annual visit

Reviewed on 2017-09-18 by from Charleston, SC United States
Updated on 2017-09-18
Review of stay from 2017-09-07 to 2017-09-14
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was our 6th year staying at the Grandview Lodge and it never disappoints. The views are outstanding and the location of the home is private but convenient to Old Fort and Black Mountain. We look forward to returning to next year
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thanks for returning to Grandview year after year! What a great choice for a vacation rental. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beautiful house, fully equipped

Reviewed on 2017-09-10 by from Toronto, ON United States
Updated on 2017-09-10
Review of stay from 2017-08-21 to 2017-08-25
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The house was huge, very clean, and equipped with pool table, air hockey, board games and more- enough to keep our party of nine - including small kids- nine - busy through days of rain. Unfortunately it was sunny and we were too busy hiking and swimming all around the area to take full advantage :)
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Wonderful! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Grandview with the family and that you also took full advantage of hiking and swimming in the area!

Quiet Oasis on the Mountain

Reviewed on 2017-08-09 by from Baltimore, MD United States
Updated on 2017-08-09
Review of stay from 2017-07-19 to 2017-07-23
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Great house, great views, great location, third time staying here and the house gets better and better as we discover more and more pockets of adventure in the area.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great!!! Thanks for returning to stay with us at Greybeard Rentals at Grandview!

Family vacation

Reviewed on 2017-07-03 by from Nokomis, FL United States
Updated on 2017-07-03
Review of stay from 2017-06-23 to 2017-06-30
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Perfect cabin for our family of ten. There was plenty of room for the children and adults to play. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need. Loved laying in bed and seeing the sun rise. We all enjoyed the beautiful views from all the rooms.We would definitely recommend this cabin.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear! Thanks for your feedback. -Greybeard Rentals

Incredible Place!

Reviewed on 2017-04-05 by from Mooresville, NC United States
Updated on 2017-04-05
Review of stay from 2017-03-29 to 2017-04-02
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Grandview Lodge is simply amazing! The picture don't do the house or the view justice. We had an amazing trip and would love to visit again!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm so glad that you were pleased with the stay at Grandview! Look forward to welcoming you back again someday soon. - Greybeard Rentals team

Loved it!

Reviewed on 2016-02-29 by from Jay, FL United States
Updated on 2016-02-29
Review of stay from 2016-02-06 to 2016-02-13
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Beautiful house, very clean, gorgeous view. Everything we needed was there. Loved the game room. Grandchildren had a blast there. Very happy with our choice.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
That WAS a great choice -- what a wonderful home. Thank you for staying with Greybeard Rentals at Grandview Lodge. I'm glad it was a good stay for you all. Come back anytime!

Paradise

Reviewed on 2015-10-16 by from Cocoa, FL United States
Updated on 2015-10-16
Review of stay from 2015-10-09 to 2015-10-13
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Beautiful getaway with awesome views and lots to do. We had 3 couples and there was plenty of room for everyone while we were all together and also while we went to our separate quarters. The only recommendation I would have to the property managers is to keep the driveway clean of leaves in the fall/autumn season. When the steep, paved driveway is wet and covered in leaves we were unable to get our vehicle up the driveway to the house. Our van got about halfway up and started spinning the tires. We tried many times and were unsuccessful. We had to leave the vehicle at the bottom of the driveway which was quite a hike to the top in the dark, carrying groceries . Otherwise it was perfect!!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
That's great to hear that the stay was good! Sorry about the driveway trouble- thanks for the feedback. Come back and stay with Greybeard Rentals soon!

Great Family Getaway

Reviewed on 2015-08-24 by from Lutz, FL United States
Updated on 2015-08-24
Review of stay from 2015-08-02 to 2015-08-07
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Perfect size for extended family with 3 king suites. Plenty of table games for the kids. Close to many activities in the Pisgah area. Well kept with nice dcor and all of the kitchen tools needed. Nicely secluded.

Note that there is only one "clicker" for the gate, so if you are staying with multiple cars, there is a need to coordinate.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad that you had a good stay with Greybeard Rentals!

Better than the pictures!

Reviewed on 2014-11-22 by from Jacksonville, FL United States
Updated on 2014-11-22
Review of stay from 2014-11-14 to 2014-11-17
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We were very excited about our stay based off the pictures of the lodge, and were assuming it wouldn't be quite as nice as the pictures looked as we'd experienced in the past with rental properties. However, upon checking into the Grandview lodge our expectations were blown away. The home was immaculate, beautiful and the furnishings/electronics were much nicer than anything we expected. If you're up in the air about this place, don't be, it's an unbelievable stay and the drive into Asheville isn't bad at all. The only warning I would say as other drivers have stated, the drive to the house is pretty crazy, so if there is any ice or no you'll probably want 4 wheel drive. Other than that, 10/10 across the board.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Wow - thanks for the feedback. That's so nice to hear that you were blown away by your stay at Grandview!! It's a great rental. Come back soon to visit!

Grandview Lodge

Reviewed on 2014-08-24 by from S Charleston, OH United States
Updated on 2014-08-24
Review of stay from 2014-08-16 to 2014-08-21
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The directions told us to turn right once we picked up the key, however, it was actually a left turn out of the parking lot. The cabin was definitely set up for more than just one family. The kitchen was well-stocked with dishes, glasses, pots and pans. The dining room is large and the sitting room/living room very spacious. The bedrooms and bathrooms were large and supplied with towels and extra pillows. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. The game room came in very handy after a day of hiking.

Grand View Lodge is well-named

Reviewed on 2014-07-16 by from Knoxville, TN United States
Updated on 2014-07-16
Review of stay from 2014-07-06 to 2014-07-13
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Pictures on the web site do not do this house justice. It is the best appointed house we have rented. The home itself is beautiful and very private. We went into Black Mountain and Asheville several times, and the drive is quick and easy. We have visited the area many times over the years, but this was one of the most enjoyable.

A Wonderful Place to Stay

Reviewed on 2014-05-06 by from Land O Lakes, FL United States
Updated on 2014-05-06
Review of stay from 2014-04-12 to 2014-04-19
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The Grandview exceeded my expectations! It was spacious and beautiful with a spectacular view of the mountains.