You are here

Shenandoah

4.9286
4.9 (42 Reviews)
5 Bedrooms
3 Baths - Half 1
10 Guests
Montreat

Featured Amenities

  • King Bed
  • Mountain View
  • Pet Friendly
  • Wifi

Did you know?

We offer a 48-hour grace period for any new bookings when you are booking more than 2 weeks from stay dates.

Description

Bedroom 1 Primary with en suite bath (main floor)
1 King
Bedroom 2 (upper level)
1 Queen
Bedroom 3 (upper level)
1 Double
Bedroom 4 (upper level)
1 Double
Bedroom 5 (upper level)
2 Twin Single
Located within the enchanting valley cove of Montreat at the foot of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains, this spacious home is ideal for larger families and groups and is conveniently located within a five-minute drive of Lake Susan, Robert Lake Playground, Montreat College, and Montreat Conference Center activities. Upon entering this charming timber-frame home, you'll immediately be greeted by the soaring white pine post and beam vaulted ceilings and spacious open floor plan.

From the decorative wall plates to the refurbished rustic cabinets in floral hues to the adorably chic mismatched furniture, everywhere you look you're sure to find unique antique furnishings and quaint details. Lavishly decorated and embodying all the Swiss charm of a gingerbread cottage in the woods, at Shenandoah you'll find yourself in a clean and cozy mountain wonderland supplied with modern conveniences further complemented by the spectacular views that surround you.

A stone's throw from the 30-mile trail system that runs through Montreat, outdoor enthusiasts will find a plethora of walking trails that wind through lush rhododendrons and along babbling streams and others that lead to sweeping mountain views that overlook the valley and towns below. Montreat is less than 10 minutes from the quaint Little Town that Rocks, Black Mountain where you can sample beer at local craft breweries, dine at award-winning restaurants, and shop for souvenirs to remind you of your special time in the mountains. Known as the Front Porch of Western North Carolina, you're sure to spot the iconic red rocking chairs that Greybeard Rentals has adopted as its logo throughout this treasured small town that stand as your reminder to slow down, pull up a chair, and relax.

If you're seeking a bustling day in the city, Shenandoah is just 25 minutes from downtown Asheville where you can tour the iconic Biltmore Estate, take America's Favorite Drive? on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and explore art galleries and studios in the hip River Arts District. Whether you're interested in a relaxing retreat or an animated mountain adventure, this bright and whimsical cabin offers a tranquil and inviting space that's sure to inspire and rejuvenate you!

House Layout: Main Level- Kitchen; Living room w/wood-burning fireplace; Laundry room w/washer & dryer combo; Dining room; Half bath; Primary bedroom w/King bed, en suite bath w/garden tub, and access to screened porch. Upper level- Loft sitting area; Bedroom w/Queen bed; Jack & Jill bath; Bedroom w/2 Twin beds; Bedroom w/Full bed; Jack & Jill bath; Bedroom w/Full bed Basement-Charcoal Grill and firewood supply 

Please note: Dogs less than 50 lbs are welcome with an additional pet fee. The main floor has central heat & air while the upper floor has 2 mini splits. For security purposes, there is an exterior camera facing the driveway. Linens, sheets, and towels are provided for your convenience. During the summer Montreat Conference Season (typically June through August), the home rents weekly, and linens will be delivered to the home in gray laundry bags. 

Amenities

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Dryer
  • DVD player
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron
  • Iron Board
  • King Bed
  • Linens provided
  • Mountain View
  • Satellite or Cable
  • Smoke Detector
  • Washer
  • Wifi

Suitability

  • Air Conditioning
  • Children Welcome
  • Cleaning Disinfection
  • Decked area
  • Enhanced Cleaning Practices
  • Fireplace
  • Free Parking
  • High-touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
  • Pets allowed
  • Smoking Not Allowed

Kitchen and Dining

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dining Area
  • Dishes Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove

Outdoor Living

  • Grill

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
March 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Location

Reviews

Comfortable and Charming

Sent on 2023-11-25 by Janet & Edward
Overall
5
Shenandoah is a comfortable and homey house with too many special touches to list! Close to Flat Creek and Elizabeth’s Path, the house has a deck that runs all across the back of the house at a level which provides a totally wooded view and a feeling of seclusion not far from Assembly Drive. The kitchen is well equipped. The house has sleeping space for 10. Parking is available adjacent to the house for 2 cars. Any additional vehicles must park up the hill in the space created by a dead end street. From the number of signs posted relating to this rule, it can be assumed that this may be an issue. The second house was unoccupied during our stay and we were easily able to work around the parking issue.

Manager's Response

Janet & Edward, we're delighted that you had an overall wonderful stay at Shenandoah and enjoyed the home's central location within Montreat and the charming touches throughout. We appreciate you sharing your thoughtful feedback with us and fellow travelers considering this home for their mountain getaway, and we look forward to hosting you again when you return to the area!

Shenandoah

Sent on 2023-10-16 by Claudia And David
Overall
5
A beautiful home in a beautiful area! Our whole family (10) was able to stay under one roof which made family time so much easier.

Manager's Response

Excellent. Great to hear that Shenandoah offered plenty of space for the entire family to stay comfortably. Thank you!

Delightful week

Sent on 2023-06-17 by Mary
Overall
5
The house was just right for our needs! We were also fortunate to have excellence weather!

Manager's Response

Mary, thank you so much for your five-star review of Shenandoah! We appreciate you choosing us at Greybeard, and we look forward to helping you plan your next mountain getaway soon.  

Montreat

Sent on 2023-05-29 by Jim
Overall
5
We have enjoyed our time in Montreat over the past decade and Shenandoah has always been our home away from home. It’s very comfortable and always in excellent condition. Convenient to streams for rock hopping and multiple trail heads.

Manager's Response

Thankful to have had the opportunity to welcome you to Montreat for many return visits. It's a very special place. Thank you for the feedback, Jim!

A perfect retreat

Sent on 2023-05-08 by Kenneth
Overall
5
The Shenandoah is a wonderful place to reflect, recharge, relax, and enjoy the beautiful WNC mountain range. The space is beautiful with all you would ever need for a getaway. The house was spotless and the bedding was luxurious. Beautifully decorated as well. And it was so private. We enjoyed being in the trees on the deck, and we even took a very chilly dip in the swimming hole at the nearby Flat Creek. Thank you for the perfect retreat!

Manager's Response

Thank you for the five-star review of Shenandoah, Kenneth! We're thrilled that you had such an amazing and recharging retreat and enjoyed the gorgeous mountain setting. We appreciate you taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us and future guests, and we hope that we'll get the chance to host you again soon.

Review for Shenandoah January 2023

Sent on 2023-01-08 by Ashley M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Shenandoah is a lovely house with an excellent layout for groups. We will try to rent again for future group conferences/retreats.

Wonderful Montreat getaway

Sent on 2022-09-24 by Sarah M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We really enjoyed our stay at Shenandoah! It's very clean and comfortable and has lovely views from the deck. We especially enjoyed the trails behind the home that led to the creek and trailheads.

Shenandoah

Sent on 2022-08-10 by Caroline C.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?

A Family Favorite

Sent on 2022-07-31 by Jim H.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Having stayed in the same home from 2010-2014, it was like coming home. Adding split air to two of the four upstairs bedrooms makes it comfortable for everyone. New and improved Wi-Fi makes it functional if you must work.

Wonderful family vacation.

Sent on 2022-06-23 by Mary F.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Montreat has been a special place for our family for several generations. Such a wonderful relaxing atmosphere for all ages.

Wonderful Stay at Shenandoah

Sent on 2022-04-20 by Hunter B.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Lots of space for our family to spread out. Large and well stocked kitchen. Nice views from the deck and screened porch. Hiking trail located just below the house.

Great rental experience-great house!

Sent on 2022-02-14 by Thomas H.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
House was extremely clean and well outfitted. Great location to walking trail up to Lake or to trailhead for Rainbow Trail. Great fireplace.

A Denney

Sent on 2021-12-05 by Ariana D.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Beautiful house with lots of room for our party of 5 ladies. We enjoyed the house and the amenities.

Great stay!

Sent on 2021-09-06 by John H.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
4
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
4
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house was well stocked, everything you need to cook.

Wonderful House!

Sent on 2021-06-02 by Dale M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
4
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house is beautiful and very clean. We had a couple of small problems and Greybeard Rentals was very responsive and helpful. We hope to come back. Shopping is great in Black Mountain and Montreat is beautiful. There are trails all over the place with easy access so we did a lot of hiking

Enjoyed Shenandoah

Sent on 2021-05-20 by Bettina R.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Great place to stay, enjoyed all the bedroom options and the deck. Appreciated the helpful signage.

Shenandoah

Sent on 2021-03-25 by maryann J.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
House is very comfortable and charming, well stocked with everything a large family could need.

Great weekend in a lovely home

Sent on 2020-11-18 by Sara W.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The whole weekend was wonderful. This Greybeard home was beautiful and well appointed.

Perfect family gathering spot

Sent on 2020-09-18 by Catherine H.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We loved Shenandoah and all that Montreat had to offer! This house was great for our family to gather the week before our son's wedding in Chapel Hill. The bride's family also rented a house (Dubard Cottage) in Montreat and we had a wonderful time hiking together and meeting at each other's houses for dinners, etc. Shenandoah was a great location for it's proximity to a swimming hole just below the house and the trail access as well. We loved the 2 porches too!

...

Sent on 2020-08-14 by Lander C.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?

A Wonderful Family Vacation!

Sent on 2020-07-25 by Sarah H.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We love the path down to the swimming hole. We start our day with a \"polar plunge\".

Shenandoah Adventures

Sent on 2020-06-22 by Betts G.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house was roomy and comfortable, fully equipped, elegant while rustic at the same time, close to trails for hikes, pools for swimming, creeks for lots of rock hopping. We love Montreat and come almost every year so even though Covid made it a ghost town we loved our family time and outdoor exercise opportunities and fun. Thank you for helping us find this great house.

30 year sorority reunion

Sent on 2020-01-23 by Kathleen C.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The property was beautiful! We had 7 women staying and everyone was very comfortable. Everyone couldn't stop talking about how prefect the house was! We loved the fireplace and all the sitting area in the living room.

A Hit for our Warren Wilson Graduation Celebration

Sent on 2019-05-12 by Megan M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Shenandoah is well appointed, comfortable and the kitchen supplies were fully stocked. Our stay was a delight! Thank you for having us.

Light switch labels were really helpful.

I Adore This Home ❣️

Sent on 2019-02-20 by Ronda J., Monroe, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We have stayed at this home about 4 times now.... We love this home❣️❣️
There is nothing more that I can say..... We Love This Home❣️❣️❣️

Manager's Response

Great! I'm glad you were pleased!

Wells and Jenkins Family Christmas in Montreat!

Sent on 2018-12-27 by Kim W., Gilbert, SC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Beautiful home in a lovely community. Perfect location and accommodations for our family of 10. We want to make this an annual tradition! Thank you, Graybeard for the Christmas touches in this home.

Manager's Response

Sounds like a great stay! Thanks for your feedback.

Wonderful!

Sent on 2018-11-06 by Kayla M., Palm Bay, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had an amazing time here. The Cabin was incredibly well equipped. We had trouble finding the driveway at first (in the dark) and the house wasn't easy to identify in the dark but that would be the ONLY downside. We were informed ahead of time that the oven was not functioning which was a bit of a bummer considering we were planning on cooking, but we were able to work around this and Greybeard was very considerate about informing us. Instructions were clear throughout the home as well, as far as how to prepare for checkout and what light switches controlled which lights. The house and views were gorgeous, clean, and accommodating. The trails surrounding the house were great for dog walking (our overheated florida dogs had a BLAST!). The location was lovely and I will definitely plan another stay in the future.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry the oven wasn't functional during your stay. Thanks for your understanding as we resolved the issue. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Family trip to the mountains

Sent on 2018-10-28 by Recent Guest, Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Two of my sisters, their spouses, my husband and I, and another couple spent four nights at Shenandoah. The house was spotless and exactly as described. It is quite charming and comfortable for a group. We had hoped to stay in Asheville but the house we selected fell through and we selected this house in Montreat. It was a very different experience but we all enjoyed staying in a more rural area. I would definitely recommend Shenandoah and Greybeard to friends. I hope to return myself!

Manager's Response

I'm sorry that the original home didn't work out, but so glad everything was to your liking! Shenandoah is a wonderful home! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best family vacation ever!

Sent on 2018-09-06 by Recent Guest, Austin, TX United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
I called Greybeard Rentals months ago after looking at numerous rental houses in the Asheville area online. The staff there was excellent. She steered me to Shenandoah in Montreat and it exceeded all expectations. I had a long list of requirements - beds and baths for my husband and I and 2 adult children; near fishing; near hiking; private and quiet. She gave us all that in a beautiful house inside and out as well as proximity to great restaurants and shops in Black Mountain. We all had a truly outstanding experience. So good we have already booked for next year!

Manager's Response

Happy to hear you were pleased with our service and that Shenandoah exceeded all of your expectations! Great to hear we will get to welcome you back next year!

Perfect

Sent on 2018-08-03 by Barbara E., Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Great week , 4 generations under one roof,had everything we needed & more ,

Manager's Response

Wonderful to hear this! Thanks for letting us know.

Montreat Youth Conference

Sent on 2018-07-02 by Jenifer P., Wilmington, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Used this home for a group of high school students attending the Montreat Youth Conference

Manager's Response

Great! Glad you enjoyed the time at Shenandoah and in Montreat.

Great spot for large group!

Sent on 2018-01-07 by Lindsey G., Nashville, TN United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4
Thank you!

Manager's Response

Great to hear this! Thanks for leaving a review.

In Montreal to celebrate brother's birthday with family & friends

Sent on 2017-11-15 by Doris S., Jamestown, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We found the house at 103 Shenandoah to be perfect for a group. It is in a great location, has everything needed for a comfortable stay. Dealing with Greybeard Realty is a joy, that's why we used them in October and November 2017. We will return!

Manager's Response

Thank you for your compliments! I'm glad you had a nice stay. Thank you!

Wonderful Trip to the Mountains!

Sent on 2017-11-05 by Recent Guest, Carrollton , Georgia United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
My family and I had a wonderful trip to Asheville and the mountains! We absolutely loved this home! The home was equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The beds were so comfortable and we had a great view of the mountains from the living area. There was a nice walking trail for my dogs also. The home is in an ideal location and is only a 15-20 minute drive to Asheville. We loved the Montreat/Black Mountain area also. We would definitely stay here again!

Manager's Response

This sounds like a really nice time. I'm glad you all enjoyed the stay at Shenandoah. We would love to welcome you back!

Shenandoah, Momtreat,MC

Sent on 2017-10-18 by Sharon C., Selma, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This house was great for our group ! We enjoyed our stay. It was clean and very uniquely decorated we enjoyed sitting on the deck and screened in porch

Manager's Response

Great! That's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time at Shenandoah. Thanks for your feedback.

Family Vacation

Sent on 2017-10-12 by Recent Guest, Birmingham, AL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
We loved our experience at Shenandoah. It had all the little extras and our family was very comfortable. The driveway was a little scary at first; but once we got used to it everything was fine.

Manager's Response

I'm glad you were comfortable at Shenandoah and enjoyed your experience! Thanks for letting us know how your family vacation went.

Nice house overall

Sent on 2017-08-08 by John H., Wilmington, NC United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
Great house in general. The semi steep driveway could be better marked with lights or reflector poles. The house has nice amenities, great A/C, den & decks.

Manager's Response

Good all around! Glad you were pleased with Shenandoah and the available amenities. We appreciate your feedback. I'm going to pass along your note about the lights or reflector poles. Update 8/21: The owner listened to your feedback and has added reflector poles. Thanks!

Great location and house

Sent on 2017-07-31 by Benjamin K., Tarboro, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The house was wonderful, secluded but not out of the way. Very quiet and you had everything you needed--lots of room, a grill, walking to/from Montreat and lots of great hiking--access was below the house so that was awesome.

Manager's Response

Good. I'm glad you were pleased with your stay at Shenandoah! What a great home. Thanks for staying with us!

A beautiful and relaxing escape

Sent on 2017-04-17 by Angela B., Toronto, ON United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We loved our stay at Shenandoah house in Montreat. Twenty-two adults down from Canada on a spring cycling tripeight of us in this house. Shenandoah was spacious enough to not to feel on top of each other and provide privacy and quite spaces when needed. The deck overlooking the hill and river was the perfect place to relax and/or socialize and we all loved everything about the convenience of Black Mountain groceries, restaurants, coffee shops. Everyone we met was so friendly and the staff at Grey Beard went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We were all so impressed and many are keen to return.

Manager's Response

Great choice in choosing to stay at Shenandoah! I'm glad you enjoyed the time there while on your spring cycling trip (all the way from Canada!) and working with us here at Greybeard. Come back anytime.

great vacation get away

Sent on 2017-04-03 by Recent Guest, Bradenton, FL United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4
we had a wonderful trip. The home was lovely very bright and airy. The location was very convenient to nearby attractions. We had great weather. The home was very well equipped for everything we needed. On arrival we were welcomed by information and a home made bread. They are only two things that I would like to mention. 1. we were given a code to enter the property which was convenient but we never heard from the rental company. A courtesy phone call would have been nice. 2. the kitchen was well supplied but the pans need to be updated the bottoms are rounded which makes it hard to cook with.

Manager's Response

Hello! Sounds like a wonderful stay at Shenandoah. We call all renters the week of arrival and usually leave a voicemail if we don't reach you... I'm sorry that we didn't connect before the stay. Our apologies. The owners are planning to replace the pans. Thanks for the helpful feedback and for staying with us.

Wonderful Family Thanksgiving

Sent on 2016-12-15 by Ginny S., Black Mountain, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
My extended family loved being at Shenandoah. It worked for the elderly grandparents (easy to get in- no steps) as well as the children. Toys were already there to play with! The kitchen was well equipped. The 5 bedrooms/4.5 baths were perfect. We hope to do it again!

Manager's Response

Great! I'm glad that Shenandoah met everyone's expectations and that you were all pleased with your choice as a Thanksgiving gathering place!

Wonderful 4 generation family vacation

Sent on 2015-07-31 by Barbara E., Raleigh, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
Relaxing, fun, crazy ( twin 15 month old twins) lazy in a good way

Manager's Response

Glad you had a good, relaxing vacation at Shenandoah. Come back and stay with Greybeard soon!

FAQs

WHAT IS YOUR REFUND/CANCELLATION POLICY?

If you need to cancel your reservation and the property you had reserved re-rents for the time which you had it reserved, you will be refunded all money you had paid minus a $89 cancellation fee. If you cancel and the property does not re-rent for your reserved dates, you will lose all money you have paid to that point. For this reason, we recommend that you purchase trip insurance . Please call 888-228-8008 before making a reservation if you have questions or concerns.

WHAT IS YOUR PET POLICY AND FEE?

Shenandoah is specified as "pet friendly" and dogs are allowed. Unfortunately, due to common allergy problems we cannot allow cats. For the privilege of bringing your dog, there is a minimum charge of $100 nonrefundable fee per pet. A maximum of two dogs are allowed unless you have received special permission from the property manager or homeowner. Any damage that may be caused by your pet during your stay will be paid for out of your security deposit or charged to the credit card we have on file. There is a county-wide leash law in place. When taking your dog outside of a gated area, please ensure that they are on a leash. 

WHAT ARE CHECK-IN/CHECK OUT TIMES?

Check-in time is 4pm and check out time is 10am. It is important that we adhere to these times, because there is a chance that someone else will be checking out/in before or after you and we need sufficient time to ready the house for the next renter. If you wish to check-in early, there is a $50 early check-in fee that can be added on to your reservation. Early check-in is only available if someone is not checking out on the morning of your arrival. Early check-in is not available during the summer conference season. 

WHERE DO WE CHECK-IN/PICK UP KEYS?

Shenandoah has a keyless entry system. You will receive a unique access code within 3 days of your arrival, allowing you to go straight to the house and check-in starting at 4pm.

WHAT IF THERE IS AN EMERGENCY DURING OUR STAY?

If you are having a medical emergency, dial 911 from the phone in your rental home or cell phone.

We hope that your stay in the area will be relaxing and without incident, but should you need to get in touch with Greybeard, we have someone on call 24 hours a day. Just call our office at 828-669-1072 and dial extension 203, which will forward to the cell phone of the person on call. Please do not hesitate to call us if something needs immediate attention, but if your question or concern can wait, we ask that you call the office during normal office hours.

WHEN IS THE SECURITY DEPOSIT REFUNDED?

Security deposits are returned within 30 days of guest departure.

WILL THERE BE FIREWOOD AT THE HOUSE?

Shenandoah has a wood burning fireplace for guests to use. Firewood is not supplied by Greybeard. Some houses will have a small supply of firewood for renter use; however, it is best to purchase your own small bundle of wood or Duraflame pressed logs at the local grocery store.  

Cutting branches, limbs or trees on the property is strictly prohibited. You can use limbs found on the ground. Absolutely NO fires are permitted outside unless the property is fitted with a fire ring/fire pit, which is not provided at Shenandoah. You cannot bring your own portable fire pit. 

IS WIFI SERVICE INCLUDED WITH MY RENTAL RESERVATION? WILL I HAVE CELL PHONE SERVICE AT MY RENTAL?

Wifi is available at Shenandoah. Please note that Greybeard Rentals does not guarantee internet connectivity or speed. Each individual homeowner contracts directly with an internet service provider, and due to a variety of reasons, Greybeard does not guarantee service. Our Black Mountain and Asheville offices have wifi service available if needed.

Cell phone service is not guaranteed. You may check with your service provider to see if service is available.

Powered by Rezfusion. Built by Bluetent.