You are here

DuBard Cottage

5.0000
5.0 (54 Reviews)
4 Bedrooms
3 Baths
12 Guests
Montreat

Featured Amenities

  • Wifi

Did you know?

We offer a 48-hour grace period for any new bookings when you are booking more than 2 weeks from stay dates.

Description

Bedroom 1
1 Queen
Bedroom 2
1 Queen
Bedroom 3
2 Twin Single
Bedroom 4
1 Twin Single
Bedroom 5 Extra - Den with full sleeper sofa, upper-level landing area with a full futon.
1 Full sleeper sofa, 1 Full futon bed
Spend your time immersed in the beauty and charm of Montreat at this renovated 1920s cottage. Only a ten-minute walk away from the Conference Center and the heart of Montreat, DuBard is a wonderful escape from the real world. A large front porch, lined with river rock columns, complete with swings and rockers looks out to Rainbow Ridge. Tucked away at the back of the house is a light and airy screened-in sunroom, with plenty of seating for the group. Snuggle up in the cozy front living room as the gas logs crackle, playing board games. There's plenty of room for all the cooks in the kitchen here. Meal preparation is a dream in DuBard's gourmet kitchen with granite countertops, a gas range, dual sinks, and all the tools you need to craft your meals.

The two dining areas accommodate seating for up to 18 people. The Great Room has plenty of seating with a large couch, window benches, and two chairs next to the river rock fireplace, a wonderful room for stories and fellowship until the late hours. When it's time for bed, the sitting room has a full-sleeper sofa. Two bedrooms, with queens, are on the main floor with two full hall baths. The additional gable bedrooms with twins are upstairs, along with a futon on the landing, and a full hall bath with shower.

You're within walking distance of Robert Lake Park, with a lovely creekside playground, tennis courts, a small ballfield, and an easy walking trail called Elizabeth's Path. Peruse the ethically sourced handcrafted goods at Ten Thousand Village or the area-specific items at The Montreat Store. Grab a coffee or hand-scooped ice cream from The Huckleberry and take a walk around Lake Susan, or in the summer rent a paddle boat or go fishing. Montreat's trail system offers several hiking options from easy to strenuous and is within a few minutes' drive of the home.

Venture into Black Mountain, an eight-minute drive, to enjoy the small businesses and locally owned restaurants that line the downtown streets. From pub-style Appalachian to authentic Cuban, several local coffee roasters, and fantastic bakeries - Black Mountain has it all. If you've exhausted Black Mountain's offerings, travel another twenty minutes down the interstate to Asheville - where you can enjoy several James Beard-nominated restaurants and the booming beer scene. Take a walk down the newly completed greenway in the River Arts District and visit the galleries of local artisans. Spend a day at the Biltmore Estate, touring the historical Home, its grounds and gardens, and the award-winning winery, before settling back in at the comforts of DuBard Cottage.

Please note: Linens (sheets and towels) are available for an additional fee. During the summer Montreat Conference Season - typically June through August - the home rents weekly and the linens (if rented through Greybeard) will be delivered to the home in professionally laundered linen bags. Mid-August through May the home has a minimum 3-night stay and a 4-night minimum for holidays. Due to allergies, this home is NOT pet-friendly.

House Layout:
Main Floor- Living room with gas logs fireplace; den with sleeper sofa, dining room, kitchen, great room with wood-burning fireplace & additional dining table, screened-in patio, two full hall baths, two bedrooms with queens, laundry room.
Second Floor- two bedrooms with double twins, full hall bath, and landing with full futon.

Amenities

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron
  • Iron Board
  • Satellite or Cable
  • Smoke Detector
  • Television
  • Washer
  • Wifi

Suitability

  • Air Conditioning
  • Children Welcome
  • Cleaning Disinfection
  • Enhanced Cleaning Practices
  • Fireplace
  • Free Parking
  • High-touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
  • Smoking Not Allowed

Kitchen and Dining

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dining Area
  • Dishes Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster

Outdoor Living

  • Grill
  • Screened Porch

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
March 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
June 2025
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Location

Reviews

Excellent (5)

Sent on 2024-01-15 by Renee
Overall
5
The house was perfect. We had our family and friends in for dinner the first night there. I had everything that I needed to fix the meal. The kitchen is great to work in my daughter was on one side and I was on the other. The dining table sat us all The fire place was a favorite we sat around and caught up with family and friends while having a nice cozy fire. DuBard house has a place for everyone to find their spot for a quick nap on a rainy afternoon. We loved it. Thanks again Greybeard team. Job well done It was clean and ready for our stay.

Manager's Response

Renee, we're so delighted to hear that you and your family had an amazing stay at DuBard Cottage and enjoyed cooking meals in the spacious kitchen and spending quality time together around the cozy fireplace. We appreciate your kind words about the Greybeard team and for recommending this home to future guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Black Mountain area soon! 

Excellent (5)

Sent on 2023-10-16 by Karen
Overall
5
Multiple family units were in town for a wedding, and DuBard was the perfect place for us to stay and gather. There is ample room for visiting, playing games, and eating food. It was a lovely weekend.

Manager's Response

Great to hear that Dubard provided an enjoyable stay for you all when in town for the wedding! Thanks for the feedback. 

Family Time at Montreat

Sent on 2023-01-06 by Dorothy J.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house was set up with a great gathering area with a fireplace and just off the kitchen. The open floor concept worked so well for our family.
The house is so well stocked with dishes, pots and pans. Everything needed in the way of appliances. Kitchen handles multiple persons at once.

Greybeard Realty

Sent on 2022-09-26 by Linda S.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Our family has been renting homes in Montreat for about 40 years now. Last week we stayed at the beautiful DuBard Cottage. This is my fourth time to stay in that lovely home. The home is beautifully decorated and has all of the emenities that make a stay there very comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything needed to prepare meals. The beds are comfortable and the house is always so clean and crisp. I think I would say that the peacefulness at Montreat and certainly at the DuBard Cottage makes for a very delightful stay.

DuBard Cottage

Sent on 2022-06-13 by Sallie O.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Everything!

Dubard Review--Fronczek

Sent on 2022-05-23 by Adam F.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Great place. Plenty of room, clean, and fairly priced.

Dubard Cottage

Sent on 2021-10-21 by Sallie O.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Beautiful home, very spacious, great location, and well stocked kitchen. Highly recommend!

Perfect Place for Rest and Retreat

Sent on 2021-09-15 by Elizabeth G.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
This home was exactly what we needed for our group of women on retreat. There were places to gather in a group, and plenty of spaces to spread out for quiet times alone with the Lord. The large table was wonderful for sharing a meal and the kitchen was a dream-well stocked, updated and thoughtfully laid out. This would be a wonderful place for a family or two to gather together as there were plenty of beds as well. The check in and check out process were seem less, and the communication from Graybeard rentals was excellent. Our group looks forward to a future stay. Thank you!

Great House!

Sent on 2021-08-29 by Luther F.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Roominess of house

DuBard Cottage is amazing

Sent on 2021-07-27 by Katherine M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We loved our stay! We had a great and restful week at our Youth Conference (I never thought I could have a restful week at a Montreat Youth Conference)!

Love DuBard Cottage!

Sent on 2021-06-14 by Mary E.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house is the perfect place for getting together or for getting away from it all.

Wonderful Cottage!

Sent on 2021-05-16 by Brooke M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
DuBard Cottage is fantastic! There's a ton of space and it has a very homey feel to it. Lots of parking and room for everyone.

Fabulous stay!

Sent on 2020-12-13 by Delores E.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
This house was perfect for the weekend celebration of my nephew's wedding! It was so spacious and the kitchen was well equipped! Thank you Susan,for steering us to this great house!

Dubard cottage

Sent on 2020-11-12 by Audrey W.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Yes!

Fun inspite of covid

Sent on 2020-10-27 by Ray N.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
This was the week-end for the color change. The yellows were bright, reds were beginning to show.
Best time for several years.
Time with our friends was our reason for going. Have been going in the fall for over 40 years and at
Dubard since 2007. It's a lovely place for us all to get together. The large room at the back lets us visit
and watch ball games with folks from other houses in Montreat.

Retreat away in Montreat

Sent on 2020-06-09 by Donald M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Wonderful visit with family! We enjoyed the mountain air, fresh laurel smell, mountain streams, hiking.

We Love Dubard!

Sent on 2020-01-15 by Katherine M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
This is my 6th or 7th time to stay at Dubard and the reason we keep coming back is because the house can accommodate groups with ease, is updated and comfortable in a great location.

Dubard

Sent on 2020-01-01 by Cathie B.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Plenty of bedrooms and baths. Great gathering space for family and plenty of sitting for eating

TEST review

Sent on 2019-07-31 by Katherine M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Test

Dubard

Sent on 2019-06-29 by Melinda g.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Everything. The house was clean. Kitchen was well supplied. Lots of room.

Dubard Cottage was delightful

Sent on 2019-05-28 by Helen S.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Spaces for fellowship and also for privacy.
Upgrade of stairway to rear parking is a big improvement!

Wonderful house in the hills

Sent on 2019-04-03 by Michael H., Saint Louis, MO United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was a beautiful place to stay,spacious, clean, a perfect mix of \"old\" and modern. We had a wonderful time.

Great getaway

Sent on 2019-01-31 by Sondra V., Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Our family found the Dubard Cottage to be perfect for our small 3-generation family getaway. The large spaces of the house accommodated us all for relaxing when interests were different, playing/talking together, and cooking together. Well stocked kitchen with little signs of \"help yourself\" welcome everywhere. Fireplaces a big plus. Location was great for easy travel to our hikes both within and outside of Montreat. Will definitely consider again.

Manager's Response

Great! Thanks for the feedback.

DuBard Cottage Getaway

Sent on 2018-10-24 by Recent Guest, Alpharetta, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The DuBard Cottage is a charming and lovely home in which to stay. It is beautifully furnished and a very, very comfortable home. The kitchen is supplied with everything one needs to prepare and serve meals. I have rented this home three times from Greybeard Realty and have loved every visit there due to the convenient location, the comfort, the spaciousness and the cleanliness.

Manager's Response

I'm so glad you continue to rent with us at Dubard Cottage and enjoyed another stay there! Thank you!

DuBard - a delight

Sent on 2018-10-16 by Sally B., Greensboro, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Our women’s group had a wonderful weekend in this fabulous home. The living space offers room for large and small-group conversations. The beautiful, well-equipped kitchen is a real plus!

Manager's Response

Sounds like a great time! Thanks for the feedback!

Wonderful Rental in Montreat

Sent on 2018-10-09 by Martha E., La Grange, KY United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dubard Cottage in Montreat. The house was well appointed and had space to spare for our group without feeling too big. Loved the many places our group could break off to be with two or three to visit without being too loud for others talking. Or one could find a quiet place to just enjoy the beautiful mountains and time alone! Perfect place for large groups! Awesome kitchen and great room!

Manager's Response

Sounds wonderful! Thank you!

Indiana Tech Women's Volleyball

Sent on 2018-08-28 by Kourtney W., Fort Wayne, IN United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The property was very clean and the girls had a ton of space in the house. It was close to the shops and Montreat College and we were able to enjoy our stay in North Carolina comfortably!

Manager's Response

Wonderful! I'm glad Dubard Cottage offered great accommodations for your group.

Wonderful!

Sent on 2018-07-24 by Recent Guest, Carrollton, VA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
This house is terrific! It has fantastic living space with a big kitchen. The refrigerator was not working fully properly, but the realty maintenance folks came promptly and handled the problem well.
We have stayed here multiple years now and hope to continue to do so in the future. We definitely recommend it to others!

Manager's Response

Thanks for letting us know about the issue with the fridge so we could resolve it. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Great to hear that you've enjoyed Dubard each year and plan to return!

Leaders' house

Sent on 2018-06-27 by Recent Guest, Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Lovely and comfortable home. Thanks for having a piano!

Manager's Response

I'm glad you enjoyed the home and piano at Dubard!

Just what the family needed

Sent on 2018-06-11 by Mary E., Canton, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was our second stay at the DuBard Cottage. Everything was clean, neat, and comfortable. Having the kitchen, dining, and great room together makes for easy access to meals and fun.
We enjoyed shopping at the Montreat shops and eating ice cream at the Huckleberry (Starbucks).
We also enjoyed the paddle boats and climbed Lookout. Unfortunately, the playground area had been devastated by the recent flooding, so the children missed out on playing in the stream. There were still plenty of activities in the area to make up for it.
We tried a new (for us) restaurant in Black Mountain called the Bistro. Great place! Child friendly, excellent food, great service.
We signed up for a week in June of next year.

Manager's Response

Yes, sadly the Montreat playground has required some reconstruction efforts after some area flooding. I'm glad you had a nice time at Dubard for the second time and that it was fun for the whole family! Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!

Perfect Retreat

Sent on 2018-05-02 by Julie C., Canton, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
I came with a group of women from my church and we had a lovely time. The house, the porches, the kitchen, all were perfect! It is such a perfect spot for relaxing and enjoying beauty in nature and relationships.

Manager's Response

Sounds like a wonderful time with the women of your church. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Dubard Cottage! -Greybeard Rentals

DuBard cottage

Sent on 2017-11-07 by Recent Guest, Durham, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3
Great, with a few glitches

Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback. Fill free to send more info to info @greybeardrealty dot com if this wasn't reported to our office. Thanks!

Awesome cabin

Sent on 2017-10-18 by Srinivas B., Saint Johns, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4
The cabin was neat and spacious for 3 families. We liked the layout and the ambience. Enjoyed the stay and would like to rent again in future.

Manager's Response

Wonderful to hear this! Thanks for the feedback . I'm glad Dubard provided plenty of space for the three of your families.

DuBard Cottage - a fantastic property!

Sent on 2017-10-01 by Recent Guest, Alpharetta, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The DuBard Cottage suited the needs of these four high school 70+ year old friends perfectly this past week. The home is well equipped with anything and everything needed for cooking. The screened in porch provided a lovely spot for meals and MUCH conversation. The home is spacious, clean and very comfortable. Working with Greybeard is something I have experienced for 35 years. I highly recommend Greybeard and the rental of this lovely home for your gathering.

Manager's Response

Sounds like a wonderful time in the mountains! I'm glad you continue to choose to work with us at Greybeard! We appreciate it and look forward to next time.

Aug. Family Gathering

Sent on 2017-09-11 by Martha P., Wake Forest, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
Dubard Cottage is one of our favorite homes to rent. The kitchen and family room are very inviting and functional. It would be nice if the ice maker in the fridge were fixed and the gas stove turned down some it tends to run quite hot. Otherwise we had an excellent stay. The home is not too far to walk to the park and has books for children and adults.

Manager's Response

We love Dubard! I'm glad you do too. Thanks for your feedback about the ice maker. I've let our work order coordinator know about this, and I'm happy to hear that you had a great stay.

A great week at Montreat

Sent on 2017-06-27 by Recent Guest, Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Montreat Worship & Music Conference

Manager's Response

Great! Thanks for leaving the review.

lovely time in lovely house.

Sent on 2017-06-13 by Helen H., Harrisonburg, VA United States
Overall
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Wonderful facility. Because I have an oxygen tank I carry behind me the facility was not as convenient as I would have liked . going up and down stairs was difficult. best part was screened in porch.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your honest feedback! I'm so glad you enjoyed Dubard Cottage - this is a very popular home in Montreat, but I understand that the stairs may have been a little much. Let us know if we can assist in finding you a one level home that may be a better fit in the future.

Beautiful!

Sent on 2017-05-15 by Mary A., Huntington Woods, MI United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This is a lovely home, and walking distance to events at Montreat.

Manager's Response

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Dubard Cottage!

Diabetes Camp Reunion and Wedding

Sent on 2017-03-07 by Dan T., Woodstock, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The cabin hosted a group of friends attending a wedding in Montreat. We had such a great experience, we may consider hosting a retreat for the nonprofit group we're all involved in managing. The only downside to the cabin was the inconsistent WiFi. It works, but had to be constantly reset. I would give it a 9.5 out of 10.

Manager's Response

So wonderful! I'm glad it was a nice time. We will take a look at the for reporting.

Great house, great location

Sent on 2016-11-29 by Brandon Z., Chattanooga, TN United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This vacation home in Montreat was beautiful with a nice big kitchen and living room that were attached in an open floorplan which was great for hanging out and entertaining. Everything was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water for all of our showers. There was a great covered/screened porch and additional uncovered patio space for plenty of space where we could hang out. There was even a small stereo with Bluetooth that we used all weekend to easily play music from our phones.

Location was great - close to downtown Black Mountain, you could walk if you really wanted, but it was probably over a mile - short little drive though and nice hiking trails close too.

We ate and drank at The Trailhead restaurant/bar and it was surprisingly affordable and delicious with a great server and atmosphere.

Greybeard staff was great! I would happily repeat this same trip again.

Manager's Response

We're happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Dubard Cottage! Glad you discovered The Trailhead! That's a local favorite. Appreciate the feedback!

Leafy Love Affair

Sent on 2016-10-25 by Lee W., Niceville, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
What not to love about the Blueridge Mountains in the fall. Our family has spent time in Montreat NC annually for over 50 years and the DuBard Cottages is by far the best place of all. A beautiful historic home totally modernized with a great room and fireplace that works wonderfully for large groups. The home is well stocked with items you will need and extremely clean and cozy. A large screened in porch also adds to the beauty. Greybeard Realty is great to work with as well....5 Stars.

Manager's Response

What a great tradition - 50 years in Montreat. Thanks for the high accolades for Dubard a nice home. I'm glad you enjoy working with us year after year too. We'll look forward to your return!

Montreat Worship & Music

Sent on 2016-07-14 by Recent Guest, Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Great house!

Manager's Response

Yes it is a great home! Glad to hear you enjoyed the stay!

Cycling in NC

Sent on 2016-05-30 by Bill S., Toranto, Canada United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
Bunch of canadian guys on a cycling trip

Manager's Response

Great! Glad you enjoyed the stay and hope the cycling was wonderful.

Delightful

Sent on 2015-12-08 by Kathleen S J., Durham, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
A lovely stay in a cozy, comfortable home with just about everything we could possibly need. Lovely hiking options, great kitchen for adventurous cooking, books and comfy places to read them. Bliss!

Manager's Response

Great! Thanks for the feedback. Glad it was a good stay.

Montreat Weekend

Sent on 2015-11-30 by Ray N., Decatur, AL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
Met 10 other couples from 6 states for a few days of visiting, eating out at local restaurants.

Manager's Response

Glad you enjoyed the time here! Thanks for staying with Greybeard.

DeBard Cottage - rental weekend Oct. 23-25

Sent on 2015-11-10 by Betty H., Greensboro, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
This is a lovely home with great amenities - except that there is only one small TV in the front parlor! We would suggest that the owners consider putting a large screen unit in the beautiful great room so that large groups could enjoy watching movies/sporting events together! We all enjoyed this beautiful, clean and spacious home and will most likely return next year. Thanks!

Manager's Response

We appreciate the suggestions! I'm glad you enjoyed the stay and plan to return. We'll look forward to it!

DuBard Cottage Getaway

Sent on 2015-11-10 by Lee W., Niceville, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Awesome!5

Manager's Response

Great!

DuBard cottage stay for a family reunion

Sent on 2015-08-03 by Charlotte N., Durham, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We have rented the DuBard cottage for the past 5 years for a weeklong stay in Montreat for our family reunion. We love the house! It is beautiful, well equipped and a great location for walking the Montreat area.

Manager's Response

Thanks for being a returning guest of Greybeard and Dubard Cottage! I do hope this year's family reunion was great for you.

DuBard Cottage

Sent on 2015-08-02 by Beth R., Newport News, VA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4
Excellent

Manager's Response

Great! Thanks for the feedback.

Worship & Music Conference

Sent on 2015-07-14 by Recent Guest, Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
excellent

Manager's Response

Great!

Incredible Group Meeting Space!!

Sent on 2015-01-21 by John R., Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We have rented this house several times and have always enjoyed it. We rent another house right behind this one on Overbrook. Both from Greybeard. There is a little funkiness to the old part of this house (the front), but the kitchen and large open space with a fireplace is the perfect winter rental for our group.

Manager's Response

Good to hear! Many guests speak highly of Dubard Cottage. Interested to hear what you were referring to with the front part of the house - feel free to shoot us a message if there is anything we can look into! Glad you had a good stay.

Morton-Flack Wedding -- House Rental for Wedding Reception

Sent on 2014-10-29 by Dennis M., Waxhaw, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This house was an excellent choice for the wedding reception. Members of the bride's family stayed in the house for 3 nights before and during the reception. House was extremely comfortable and provided a great venue for an October wedding reception. Screen porch provided a great place for guests to relax and visit while large den provided an opportunity to dance and enjoy all of the festivities of a reception. Kitchen was also a great place for food preparation and serving. Only drawback was limited parking and access for some of the guests, but that was easily overlooked based on all of the other positivie attributes about the house. Great suggestion by Tammy at Greybeard and good time had by all.

Divine DuBard

Sent on 2014-10-28 by Kathleen S J., Durham, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Cottage is beautiful, well-appointed, both cozy and spacious. Versatile indoor and outdoor areas for gathering or spending quiet time alone. Excellent kitchen with room for multiple cooks. Quick access to hiking trails of all levels of challenge. We enjoyed the feel of being in a neighborhood and still having plenty of privacy.

Manager's Response

Sounds like Dubard Cottage was a good fit for you! Come back to visit soon!

Montreat House

Sent on 2014-07-21 by Recent Guest, Chapel Hill, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Loved it!

FAQs

WHERE IS THIS HOUSE LOCATED?

DuBard Cottage is located in Montreat. This home is approximately 10 minutes to Black Mountain and 30 minutes to Asheville. Click on the location tab above to locate this house on a map.

WHAT IS YOUR REFUND/CANCELLATION POLICY?

If you need to cancel your reservation and the property you had reserved re-rents for the time which you had it reserved, you will be refunded all money you had paid minus an $89 cancellation fee. If you cancel and the property does not re-rent for your reserved dates, you will lose all money you have paid to that point. For this reason, we recommend that you purchase trip insurance . Please call 888-228-8008 before making a reservation if you have questions or concerns.

WHAT IS YOUR PET POLICY AND FEE?

DuBard Cottage is not “pet friendly”. Please be respectful of those owners who, because of allergies or other personal reasons, have chosen not to allow any pets. If housekeeping notes that a pet was present on a non-pet friendly property during your visit, you will be charged a minimum of $600 to clean carpets, upholstered furniture and complete air purification measures. Bringing a pet to a house that is not pet-friendly without owner consent or permission from Greybeard is grounds for termination of the rental agreement without refund. If you must travel with your pet, please contact us for local boarding recommendations. More info about service animals and the ADA is available here.

WHAT ARE CHECK-IN/CHECK OUT TIMES?

Check-in time is 4pm and check out time is 10am. It is important that we adhere to these times, because there is a chance that someone else will be checking out/in before or after you and we need sufficient time to ready the house for the next renter. If you wish to check-in early, there is a $50 early check-in fee that can be added on to your reservation. Early check-in is only available if someone is not checking out on the morning of your arrival. Early check-in is not available during the summer conference season. 

WHERE DO WE CHECK-IN/PICK UP KEYS?

You will pick up keys from our Black Mountain office, located at 204 East State Street. Keys will be available starting at 4:00 pm. If you are arriving after hours, you will receive instructions on how to access the safe on our front porch. There will be an envelope with your name and house name at the top. Your keys and driving directions will be inside the envelope.

WHAT IF THERE IS AN EMERGENCY DURING OUR STAY?

If you are having a medical emergency, dial 911 from the phone in your rental home or cell phone.

We hope that your stay in the area will be relaxing and without incident, but should you need to get in touch with Greybeard, we have someone on call 24 hours a day. Just call our office at 828-669-1072 and dial extension 203, which will forward to the cell phone of the person on call. Please do not hesitate to call us if something needs immediate attention, but if your question or concern can wait, we ask that you call the office during normal office hours.

WILL THERE BE FIREWOOD AT THE HOUSE?

Firewood is not supplied by Greybeard. Some houses will have a small supply of firewood for renter use; however, it is best to purchase your own small bundle of wood or Duraflame pressed logs at the local grocery store.

Cutting branches, limbs or trees on the property is strictly prohibited. You can use limbs found on the ground. Absolutely NO fires are permitted outside unless the property is fitted with a fire ring/fire pit. You cannot bring your own portable fire pit. 

IS WIFI SERVICE INCLUDED WITH MY RENTAL RESERVATION? WILL I HAVE CELL PHONE SERVICE AT MY RENTAL?

Wifi is available at DuBard Cottage. Please note that Greybeard Rentals does not guarantee internet connectivity or speed. Each individual homeowner contracts directly with an internet service provider, and due to a variety of reasons, Greybeard does not guarantee service. Our Black Mountain and Asheville offices have wifi service available if needed.

Cell phone service is not guaranteed. You may check with your service provider to see if service is available.

Powered by Rezfusion. Built by Bluetent.