You are here

3D Virtual Tour URL: 
Virtual Tour

Dancing Bears Cabin

4.9600
5.0 (50 Reviews)
3 Bedrooms
2 Baths
6 Guests
Old Fort to Marion

Featured Amenities

  • Fire Pit
  • King Bed
  • Mountain View
  • Private/Secluded
  • Wifi

Description

Bedroom 1
1 King
Bedroom 2
1 Queen, 1 Bunk Bed
Bedroom 3
2 Bunk Bed
Whether you're looking for a memorable family retreat or romantic getaway, this one-level, 3-bedroom, 2-bath log cabin is where you'll want to stay. Dancing Bears Cabin is located in beautiful Gateway Mountain, a 3,000-acre hardwood forest, nature preserve, and wildlife sanctuary. Enjoy majestic, layered Blue Ridge Mountain views from the deck and toast marshmallows in the outdoor fire pit. Gaze at a peaceful night sky full of stars and constellations. Cook -- or don't cook -- in a modern kitchen. Curl up on a comfy sofa and enjoy a crackling fire. Dancing Bears Cabin features WiFi, 2 high-definition TVs connected to Direct TV (150+ channels), a king-size bed, a queen-size bed, and 3 bunk beds (6 twin-size beds). Enjoy breathtaking Blue Ridge views and serenity without needing to drive far up a mountain. Convenient to everything, but feels a million miles away, this is the perfect cabin for enjoying nature and recharging. Gateway Mountain's amenities include a private lake for swimming, a trout pond for catch-and-release fishing (no license required), hiking trails, and a waterfall park. Explore quirky shops, local breweries, and incredible restaurants in downtown Black Mountain and Marion, just 25 minutes from the cabin. Drive 40 minutes west into Asheville for delicious restaurants, shopping, and entertainment, or 40 minutes south to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure for hiking, big-lake swimming, boating, and water sports.

House Layout: Living room with high ceilings, a wood burning fireplace, and TV; dining area with seating for 8; full kitchen with dishwasher and coffee maker (standard coffee maker) included; master bedroom with king bed, views, access to the back deck, and en suite bath with a walk-in shower only; bedroom with queen bed and 1 set of bunk beds; bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds and TV; full hall bath with shower/tub combo; laundry room with washer and dryer. Outdoors- large back deck with long-range views; outdoor patio with table and seating for 6, charcoal grill, and outdoor fire pit. Please note: Because we're in the mountains, Wi-Fi is offered via satellite. Although it's fast and perfect for checking emails, social media, and surfing the web, please do not stream movies or music or engage in high-bandwidth activities (playing Internet-based games). Doing so will cause Internet connectivity to slow to a crawl. Instead, DirecTV offers many music channels for your listening pleasure and 150 TV channels. Also, the driveway is steep, but it's paved, and there is plenty of parking at the cabin.

During the colder winter months, icy and/or snowy road conditions and delayed snow plow operations are possible within the development. From December through March, please come prepared with AWD or 4WD vehicles. We also recommend travel insurance for those staying in the Gateway Mountain development during the winter months. Due to allergies, no smoking and no pets, please. No parking is allowed on roadways or at gate entrances. No RVs, boat trailers, camping trailers, or trailers of any kind are permitted in the Gateway Mountain Community. Dancing Bears Cabin will include holiday decor this season. Most homes are decorated by the first week of December, but please feel free to contact us for specific timing.

Amenities

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Dryer
  • DVD player
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • King Bed
  • Linens provided
  • Satellite or Cable
  • Secluded Asheville Rentals
  • Smoke Detector
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
  • Wifi

Suitability

  • 4WD/AWD Required
  • Air Conditioning
  • Children Welcome
  • Cleaning Disinfection
  • Decked area
  • Enhanced Cleaning Practices
  • Fireplace
  • Free Parking
  • Gated Community
  • High-touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant
  • Smoking Not Allowed

Kitchen and Dining

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dining Area
  • Dishes Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Fridge
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster

Outdoor Living

  • Deck Patio Uncovered
  • Fire Pit
  • Grill
  • Outdoor Space/Living Area

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2023
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
 
March 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2024
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Location

Reviews

stunning

Sent on 2022-07-30 by Dane D.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The cabin was perfect, the view spectacular. Loved Old Fort, the brewery and the setting. Black Mountain close and has one of the best German restaurants you could ask for. The history of the whole area is fascinating and did I say the view from our cabin deck was spectacular?

Wonderful anniversary getaway

Sent on 2022-07-10 by Amanda L.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Honestly, everything. The cabin, the scenery, the peacefulness. How close it is to activities.

Odell Family

Sent on 2022-04-17 by Carol O.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Being able to be with family who live nearby. This was our second stay in the Dancing Bear rental and we appreciate the hospitality of the owners.

Dancing Bears

Sent on 2022-04-04 by Vicky C.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
It's so nice and quiet and the views are spectacular

Christmas Vacation

Sent on 2021-12-29 by Wayne G.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Great cabin - pretty views!

Cabin retreat

Sent on 2021-12-01 by Maria G.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
This was a wonder place to meet for our family to meet for our Thanksgiving Holiday. We had all the cooking utensils we needed to make our dinner. The cabin was gorgeous! The fireplace added to the holiday spirit. We had a beautiful view of the mountains from the porch. We made an outdoor fire at night in the firepit which was fun. There is a beautiful trail and waterfall right within gateway mountain. The Greybeard rental staff were very pleasant and helpful and made the rental process easy.
We would recommend Dancing Bears Cabin and hope to return for another stay.

Dancing Bear Weekend

Sent on 2021-11-04 by John H.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The quality of the Dancing Bear cabin far exceeded our expectations. Beautiful inside and out, comfortable, high quality beds and furniture. Very clean and the deck and especially the view from there were everything we could have hoped for!

Exceeded expectations

Sent on 2021-10-24 by James E.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The cabin is perfectly cozy with beautiful long range mountain views. It has a secluded feel without neighboring homes visible, but they aren't far away once you drive the community. We loved the Gateway Mountain waterfall and lake tours. What a gift this was! We look forward to returning.
Greybeard was organized, timely with correspondence, and seamless with the process. I appreciated the \"inspector\" that visited the house just prior to our arrival to ensure the property was in order.

Sent on 2021-10-16 by Randall W.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?

Loved this cabin

Sent on 2021-06-10 by MIRIAM L.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
I loved that this cabin it had a very homey feel and it was decorated nicely. Very clean and put together. I loved that it was located on the mountain and was secluded. I also like the fact that it was gated. The kids enjoyed the firepit, I loved the fact that the supplied were already there (roasting sticks, firewood, matchsticks and light fluid). The balcony had an awesome view, perfect for unwinding or morning refresh air meditation. The only thing I felt like was a bit of a hassle but not really a problem is at the end taking out the trash. I didn't feel like guests should have to. I understand not leaving it outside of the house in a trash bin but felt like as long as the trash set aside in the house the housekeeper or whoever cleans the property should take it out to the designated dumpsters. It is a hassle just trying to take your own trash out and down the mountain.

We loved our time at this cozy cabin.

Sent on 2021-04-20 by K G.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The views are amazing! Check-in and checkout were easy and instructions and directions were throughout the cabin are posted. The space is very comfortable and the bulletin board of information was helpful since this was out first visit to the area. The waterfall hike in the development was lovely and much more than the picture depicts.

Wow!!

Sent on 2021-03-27 by Tom S.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The morning views from the main living space were perfect. Our family relaxed by the firepit almost every night and with no trees directly overhead the star gazing was great. And the proximity to our planned activities was perfect - nothing further than 30 minutes Chimney Rock, horseback riding, shopping, ice cream, and food.

Really enjoyed this place!

Sent on 2021-02-23 by Jake M.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
4
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Great stay and great view.

Awesome New Year!

Sent on 2021-01-04 by Alexander T.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We stayed for 4 days this New Year celebration, family of 3 generations!
Our overall experience was great, everyone enjoyed the stay and didn't want to leave. The property was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Outside view just fantastic!

Exceptional cabin at a great location

Sent on 2020-12-29 by Maria+Fernanda L.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Very private and quiet. The space was very clean and comfortable. It has everything you need for your stay. We had a lot of fun and would definitely go back!

Quiet escape

Sent on 2020-12-15 by Jeanette G.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Great secluded cabin! It was very nice and very clean which is very important to us. The Christmas tree was a plus :). Looking forward in booking our next vacation with Greybeard rentals.

Thanksgiving

Sent on 2020-11-29 by Geraldine P.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Everything was wonderful. I felt like I was at home. The views were amazing. The kitchen was perfect. Loved the fire pit. I can't begin to express how happy my visit left me and my family.

Amazing

Sent on 2020-11-14 by Hayley L.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The house was amazing. Very clean, easy check in and out process, not to mention the amazing views.

Wonderful

Sent on 2020-11-12 by MIchelle Y.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We had a wonderful weekend and relaxation...area views were beautiful and cabin was comfortable!

So many \"wow's\"

Sent on 2020-10-08 by Leigh+Ann B.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The views. No one was around on any hike or fishing, so nice!

Cabin in the mountains

Sent on 2020-09-28 by Emily W.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Beautiful views from the porch, we made a fire every night, love the cabin feel, large kitchen layout to make food and entertain at the large table in the dining room.

Nice cabin

Sent on 2020-09-19 by Whitney R.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Very secluded. Loved the hiking trails in the neighborhood

Perfect Birthday Celebration

Sent on 2020-09-08 by Gary B.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Beautiful cabin, breathtaking views!

Dancing Bear Cabin

Sent on 2020-07-04 by Joseph R.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Beautiful cabin with wonderful views. Everything was perfect from check in to check out.

Delightful, relaxing experience!

Sent on 2020-05-18 by Donald P.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The cabin is charming, comfortable, well appointed, and well stocked for meal preparation. All was in fine repair and good working order. The view from the deck was wonderful any time of the day, and it featured plenty of space for 3 adults and an almost 4 year old to enjoy. Nestled in a gated community that also serves as a nature preserve, the setting could not have been nicer, and there was not another dwelling within sight or earshot...so privacy was fantastic. We had a picnic on the community boat doc...very lovely setting, and we also made trips to the waterfalls that are located within the gated community--absolutely idyllic and well worth the trip! We also had the good fortune to view lots of wildlife from the vantage point of the deck including a wild turkey and an inquisitive bear cub who walked along the property fence line--fortunately outside of the property! The assistance of the Greybeard staff (who kindly assisted with the reservation by phone) was absolutely first rate! We're looking forward to returning sometime soon!

Excellent

Sent on 2020-05-08 by Cathy E.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Everything the cabin was beautiful and the view was gorgeous. It was heaven loved every moment we spent there

Fantastic, relaxing stay with a view!

Sent on 2020-02-04 by John L.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Place was wonderful! Grey beard was great to deal with

Splendid

Sent on 2019-11-03 by Reuben L.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The coziness of the cottage.

Dancing bear

Sent on 2019-09-29 by Charlotte O.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
4
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
The beautiful view. The gracious open living
Saw mama bear and her 2 cubs the 1st evening as we were taking in the view.

Perfect cabin getaway

Sent on 2019-08-28 by Chris F.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Dancing Bears cabin exceeded our expectations in every way. First, the view was breathtaking. We know there were neighbors in the area but you couldn't see anyone. It felt like we were on our own mountain retreat. The house was clean and cozy and we had everything we needed. We would definitely come back!

Dancing Bears August 2019

Sent on 2019-08-18 by Kelly W.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
4
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
We enjoyed our stay at Dancing Bears cabin. The cabin was spotless and well stocked with necessities and extras. Our 8-year old loved the bunk beds and fire pit. The adults liked the view and peace and quiet. The two times we needed to call the office the staff were helpful and super friendly. Not much going on in town, but close enough for excursions (Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, Asheville, Blue Ridge Parkway, etc). A nice getaway before the back to school hustle and bustle.

Dancing Bears 2019

Sent on 2019-08-03 by Lou+%26+Dawn B.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
Peace and quiet and the mountain views

Dancing bear rental experience

Sent on 2019-07-28 by Michael Y.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
What a joy this Has been!We have traveled all over the world and this is an exceptional experience. Wonderful solitude and tranquility. We are coming back to dancing Bear. I can't imagine a better view but will take it if you have one. Great job.

Perfect Cabin

Sent on 2019-07-24 by Leigh I.
Overall
5
Were you satisfied with the property's general condition?
5
Were you happy with the property's location? (convenience, safety, view, etc.)
5
How would you rate the cleanliness of your home?
5
How would you rate the reservations process
5
Would you recommend this property to a friend?
My family enjoyed our stay at Dancing Bears Cabin. The cabin had everything we needed and was in the perfect location. Amazing views!!! There were many wildlife sightings, including wild turkeys, deer and even a bear. The kids absolutely loved it!! Will definitely stay here again if we decide to come back to this area.

Great cabin

Sent on 2018-11-15 by Chloe V., Summerville, SC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
A wonderful romantic stay. Beautiful view and a comfortable and cozy cabin. We will choose this cabin again.

Manager's Response

I'm so glad you had a nice romantic getaway at Dancing Bears! Thanks for your feedback. Come back soon!

Amazing cabin

Sent on 2018-10-30 by Brenda W., Blackshear, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had the most amazing vacation in the mountains and can't wait to return. The cabin was very clean, comfortable and beautiful. We loved sitting on the front porch looking at the mountain view. We did have a problem with the coffee maker, but, we bought one and left for the next guests to enjoy. This was the best vacation we have had in a very long time!

Manager's Response

Thank you for the feedback! I'm so sorry about the coffee maker. We keep these on hand at the office in instances like this and would have been happy to pass it along. Thank you for sharing the one you purchased though! I'm so glad you enjoyed the stay.

Dancing Bears Cabin

Sent on 2018-10-17 by Scott S., Cincinnati, OH United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Great weekend get away. Exactly what we needed.

Manager's Response

So great to hear! Come back again soon to get away!

Beautiful views and home!

Sent on 2018-10-10 by Recent Guest, Brunswick, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
Wonderful, well kept cabin! Loved the views and beautiful setting. There isn’t a lot nearby, but it’s tranquil and so peaceful.

Manager's Response

Great! This is such a wonderful cabin. Thanks for your feedback.

Perfect Retreat

Sent on 2018-09-25 by Beth B., Greensboro, NC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
Two couples wanted to have a long weekend getaway and this retreat home is the perfect place for relaxing in the mt air or visiting Biltmore and surrounding area as we did. The home is a cozy log cabin with all the amenities you could ask for and so well stocked that we could have stayed weeks and entertained a crowd every night!! The most well stocked rental home I have ever been to. The only draw back is how could you get there and back in winter snows or ice with the steep hills?

We enjoyed every minute and Dancing Bears is on our list for a return visit!

Manager's Response

I'm so glad you enjoyed your getaway at Dancing Bears Cabin! Sounds like a nice visit to the area and so glad you enjoyed this wonderful home. Believe it or not, this area doesn't normally get a whole lot of snow, and when it does, the roads in the development get plowed. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Stay at dancing bear cabin

Sent on 2018-09-06 by Martha F., Kershaw, SC United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Everything was awesome. The View was incredible. We spent most of our time there on the back porch. I would love to stay here again.

Manager's Response

Great! Dancing Bears is a great home! I'm glad you enjoyed your time there.

Dancing Bear and Rainbows!

Sent on 2018-07-24 by Recent Guest, Jacksonville, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We had a fabulous stay at the cabin. Very clean and well maintained. The views were amazing. We had a beautiful rainbow one evening.

Manager's Response

Great! Very cool about the rainbow as well.

Blue Ridge Mountains

Sent on 2018-06-28 by Recent Guest, Cocoa beach, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Magnificent view! House lovely!

Manager's Response

Always great to hear! I'm glad you had a nice time at Dancing Bears Cabin!

Gateway Mountain April 2018

Sent on 2018-04-29 by Wess B., Hot Springs Village, AR United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was the 5th rental we have used at GM and turned out to be the best! Greybeard rental staff was great and communicated regularly providing all needed information and much more. We would stay in this log home again. The only challenge is the slow internet and one bar cellular reception.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback! I'm so glad that Dancing Bears Cabin was your favorite Gateway Mountain rental so far and that you enjoyed working with us at Greybeard. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for the feedback about the internet and cell reception. Verizon cell service tends to work the best in the mountains. We provide a little blurb about the wireless connection in the description of this property and will seek ways to further highlight this detail - so thank you for the so glad you found the stay enjoyable regardless! Wifi and cell service does tend to have its challenges in the mountains in general.

A Christmas to Remember!

Sent on 2018-01-02 by Laura W., Carrollton, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Our stay at Dancing Bears was just what my family needed! We were able to remove ourselves from the chaos of holiday activities and spend time as a family. We lacked for nothing while at the cabin. The cabin is beautiful and has most anything you need. We enjoyed cozying up to the fire as we watched Christmas movies. The coffee table was a great place for puzzles and Christmas crafts. Food prep was a breeze as the kitchen has most every bowl, pot, pan or accessory you might need. The cabin was small enough for us to stay connected, but there were plenty of rooms to escape to if you needed a break. The beds were very comfortable and plenty of linens were provided. We have no complaints and hope to be able to make a return visit in the future!

Manager's Response

Wow, sounds like a wonderful respite from the holiday bustle to enjoy family time! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Dancing Bears Cabin. Great choice in cabin! -Greybeard Rentals

Weekend getaway

Sent on 2017-12-05 by Recent Guest, Savannah, GA United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5
My family had a wonderful time. Better than I imagined. We did excursions for 2 of the days to Ashville and Chimney Rock both of which the kids (5&8 y/0) and my wife and I had wonderful time. I am already thinking of visiting again and using same cabin as I appreciated it being in gated community and very well maintained and enough outside that I could keep my 2 boys busy.

Manager's Response

Great! I'm so glad you and your family had a wonderful time in Chimney Rock and Asheville as well as at the cabin.

Fantastic mountain top getaway

Sent on 2017-10-18 by Amanda H., Oviedo, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
Our family enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Dancing Bear. The cabin was beautiful - inside and out! The house was just perfect for us. It had all the anmenties we needed.
It was close enough to excursions and also private so you felt like you were on top of your own mountain.

Manager's Response

Great! I'm so glad you had a nice family stay at Dancing Bears Cabin! Come back soon to stay with us. - Greybeard Rentals

Eclipse vacay

Sent on 2017-08-24 by Stacey S., Macclenny, FL United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Had a great time, loved the cabin, beautiful property, very clean, saw deer and turkeys out in the woods by the fence.

Manager's Response

Great! Glad to hear this, and very cool that you saw some wildlife in the Gateway Mountain development.

Dancing bear eight days

Sent on 2017-07-25 by Recent Guest, Jacksonville, FL United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4
The location is fabulous everything was available to us we had an electrical issue of which Mike Evans the maintenance man on the mountain took care of immediately the dishwasher needs to have instructions how to use it it just didn't seem to work. Disappointed that the electric he didn't work we had a four-year-old and we were hoping that would keep them in so that was very disappointing I believe my bride let some additional notes thanks CFP

Manager's Response

I'm glad you had a wonderful time! I checked with our work order coordinator and she reviewed what you're referring to with the electrical. I now understand that you may be referring to the electric gate for the driveway which is not in use (we don't advertise it). I'm sorry you were disappointed by that! I understand that there were also some outlets in the master bedroom that were tripped and that one of our maintenance men came and fixed that issue once it was reported. The message the dishwasher was giving you was asking for additional rinse aid which was fixed. The owner also plans to replace the dishwasher in early September with a new dishwasher. Thank you for the feedback!

Almost ... perfect

Sent on 2017-06-26 by Vicky W., Lebanon, TN United States
Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4
Things were great with two imperfections. The major one is the hallway bathroom has an awkward step over, causing one of our family to trip and fall. Minor imperfection is there are no eating utensils. There were cooking utensils.

Manager's Response

Thanks for your helpful feedback that will help us improve future experiences at Dancing Bears Cabin! There actually ARE utensils at Dancing Bears Cabin and I'm so sorry that they were not clearly visible during your stay. There is a note next to the kitchen phone about the utensils being stored in a large wooden hutch next to the dining room, but we will work on better highlighting where these are stored so that is more visible for future visits. We hadn't heard the feedback about the area between the hallway and bathroom before. We were in contact with the homeowner and we all feel badly about the fall and hope your family member is okay! The homeowner plans to examine the transition (molding) from the wooden floor in the hallway to the tiled floor in the bathroom. Thanks again, and I'm glad you had a great stay overall!

Fantastic Cabin!

Sent on 2017-04-20 by Matthew L., Carmel, IN United States
Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dancing Bears. The view is spectacular and the cabin is modern and clean while feeling rustic. We loved our time there.

Manager's Response

Wonderful! I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Dancing Bears Cabin.

FAQs

WHERE IS THIS HOUSE LOCATED?

Dancing Bears Cabin is located in Old Fort. This home is approximately 25 minutes to Black Mountain and Marion, and approximately 40 minutes to Asheville. Click on the location tab above to locate this house on a map.

WHAT IS YOUR REFUND/CANCELLATION POLICY?

If you need to cancel your reservation and the property you had reserved re-rents for the time which you had it reserved, you will be refunded all money you had paid minus an $89 cancellation fee. If you cancel and the property does not re-rent for your reserved dates, you will lose all money you have paid to that point. For this reason, we recommend that you purchase trip insurance. Please call 888-228-8008 before making a reservation if you have questions or concerns.

WHAT IS YOUR PET POLICY AND FEE?

Dancing Bears Cabin is not “pet friendly”. Please be respectful of those owners who, because of allergies or other personal reasons, have chosen not to allow any pets. If housekeeping notes that a pet was present on a non-pet friendly property during your visit, you will be charged a minimum of $600 to clean carpets, upholstered furniture and complete air purification measures. Bringing a pet to a house that is not pet-friendly without owner consent or permission from Greybeard is grounds for termination of the rental agreement without refund. If you must travel with your pet, please contact us for local boarding recommendations. More info about service animals and the ADA is available here.

WHAT ARE CHECK-IN/CHECK OUT TIMES?

Check-in time is 4pm and check out time is 10am. It is important that we adhere to these times, because there is a chance that someone else will be checking out/in before or after you and we need sufficient time to ready the house for the next renter. If you wish to check-in early, there is a $50 early check-in fee that can be added on to your reservation. Early check-in is only available if someone is not checking out on the morning of your arrival.

WHERE DO WE CHECK-IN/PICK UP KEYS?

Dancing Bears Cabin is located in a gated community. You must go to our Old Fort Office at 243 Catawba Ave S to pick up your gate card. Driving directions to our Old Fort Office, along with access instructions will be sent out via email. Once you have picked up your gate card, you can proceed to the house. Please do not rely on GPS. We will provide you with driving directions to Dancing Bears Cabin from our Old Fort Office.

Dancing Bears Cabin has a keyless entry system. You will receive a unique access code within 3 days of your arrival.

WHAT IF THERE IS AN EMERGENCY DURING OUR STAY?

If you are having a medical emergency, dial 911 from the phone in your rental home or cell phone.

We hope that your stay in the area will be relaxing and without incident, but should you need to get in touch with Greybeard, we have someone on call 24 hours a day. Just call our office at 828-669-1072 and select option 1, which will forward to the cell phone of the person on call. Please do not hesitate to call us if something needs immediate attention, but if your question or concern can wait, we ask that you call the office during normal office hours.

WILL THERE BE FIREWOOD AT THE HOUSE?

Firewood is not supplied by Greybeard. Some houses will have a small supply of firewood for renter use; however, it is best to purchase your own small bundle of wood or Duraflame pressed logs at the local grocery store.

Cutting branches, limbs or trees on the property is strictly prohibited. You can use limbs found on the ground. Absolutely NO fires are permitted outside unless the property is fitted with a fire ring/fire pit. You cannot bring your own portable fire pit. 

IS WIFI SERVICE INCLUDED WITH MY RENTAL RESERVATION? WILL I HAVE CELL PHONE SERVICE AT MY RENTAL?

Wifi is available at Dancing Bears Cabin, but is offered via satellite. Streaming movies or music or playing internet-based games is not available. Please note that Greybeard Rentals does not guarantee internet connectivity or speed. Each individual homeowner contracts directly with an internet service provider, and due to a variety of reasons, Greybeard does not guarantee service. Our Black Mountain and Asheville offices have wifi service available if needed.

Cell phone service is not guaranteed. You may check with your service provider to see if service is available.

Powered by Rezfusion. Built by Bluetent.