You are here

Firefly Lodge

Beds/Baths

3 BR
3.5 BA
Guest Reviews
4.7826
4.7826 (22 guest reviews)
Age 18 and under.

Occupancy

Sleeps 6

Bedding

BR 1 - Queen Bed; loft with sleeper sofa (upper level)
BR 2 - Queen Bed (lower level)
BR 3 - Queen Bed (main floor)

Description

This cozy log cabin embraces you from the moment you enter. The many decks and porches offer great indoor/outdoor living and the open floor plan allows for natural light throughout the house. Whether enjoying morning coffee or savoring a beautiful sunset from one of the three decks, or cuddling in front of the fire on a winter's eve, you are encouraged to catch your breath and relax in a tranquil, natural setting in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains. This vacation retreat is the perfect getaway, only 5 minutes from downtown Black Mountain and 1 mile from the golf course, while still being privately nestled in the woods. Use the wireless internet to select the next day's activities or try hiking one of the several trails that are within 20 minutes of the cabin. House layout: bedroom with queen beds and en suite baths with shower only.
SHEETS AND TOWELS INCLUDED for your convenience.

Amenities

Living

  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Ironing Board
  • Wireless Internet (Wifi)
  • Log/Timber Cabin
  • Fireplace (gas logs)

Outdoor

  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Gas Grill
  • View

Geographic

  • Secluded
  • Close to Town
  • Private

Convenience

  • Nearby Medical Services
  • Nearby Grocery

Entertainment

  • Cable TV
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
December 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightlyWeeklyMonthly
11/26/18 - 12/20/18$230$1,155
12/21/18 - 01/01/19$295$1,489
01/02/19 - 02/13/19$230$1,155$2,890
02/14/19 - 02/18/19$260
02/19/19 - 04/17/19$230$1,155$2,890 - $3,083
04/18/19 - 04/22/19$289
04/23/19 - 05/06/19$230$1,155
05/07/19 - 05/22/19$260$1,300
05/23/19 - 05/28/19$289
05/29/19 - 06/30/19$289$1,445$5,060
07/01/19 - 07/31/19$295$1,489
08/01/19 - 08/20/19$289$1,445
08/21/19 - 08/29/19$260$1,300
08/30/19 - 09/03/19$289
09/04/19 - 09/30/19$260$1,300
10/01/19 - 10/06/19$289
10/07/19 - 10/24/19$295$1,489
10/25/19 - 11/03/19$289$1,445
11/04/19 - 11/21/19$230$1,155
11/22/19 - 12/03/19$295$1,489
12/04/19 - 12/20/19$230$1,155

Location

Get Directions

Reviews

Mountain Meetup

Reviewed on 2018-05-26 by Unknown of Raleigh, NC United States
Updated on 2018-07-09
Review of stay from 2018-05-17 to 2018-05-20
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
This home was perfect for our family reunion needs. Each family was able to have their own bed/bath on one of 3 separate floors giving some privacy. There was plenty of parking and all communications from Greybeard Realty were helpful and pertinent. My son had stayed there previously and highly recommended it for our needs. We weren’t disappointed!
Manager response on 2018-07-09 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great! Sounds like you were all able to spread out at Firefly Lodge and enjoy your time at the family reunion. I'm glad you had a nice time.

Wonderful family weekend getaway!

Reviewed on 2017-10-26 by Natalie B. of Aurora, OH United States
Updated on 2017-11-03
Review of stay from 2017-10-20 to 2017-10-23
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Enjoyed Firefly Lodge during a 3 day weekend visit with our son who lives in Asheville and our daughter from Wilmington. What a great home for all of us to stay together. Clean and well-maintained, a kitchen stocked with all of the cookware and plates you could possibly need, 3 porches and bathrooms everywhere. We hiked in Montreat (10 mins. away, numerous trails ranked by difficulty with beautiful views at the top) ate, drank and listened to music in Asheville, shopped around town in Black Mountain, played air hockey and cards at the house and walked down to the Mountainview church on a beautiful Sunday morning for a music filled worhsip service. Just wonderful and would definitely return again.
Manager response on 2017-11-03 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Sounds like you had a really nice time with your son and daughter and enjoyed some fun activities. Montreat's hikes are great - I'm glad you enjoyed the time in the area!

Firefly Lodge

Reviewed on 2017-10-26 by Unknown of Simpson, NC United States
Updated on 2017-11-03
Review of stay from 2017-10-16 to 2017-10-20
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The house was very warm, inviting and cozy. Greybeard's customer service is rated A.
Manager response on 2017-11-03 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm glad you were pleased in the accommodations and our customer service! Thank you for your feedback.

Breathless Views

Reviewed on 2017-07-09 by Robert T. of West Palm Beach, FL United States
Updated on 2017-07-18
Review of stay from 2017-06-23 to 2017-06-30
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Had a great time in this beautiful cabin. Stress less calm and very enjoyable. The views off the decks were amazing, like postcards. Would recommend 100%.
Manager response on 2017-07-18 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Happy to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing stay at Firefly Lodge! We'd love to welcome you back soon! - Greybeard Rental's team

Family Long Weekend

Reviewed on 2017-03-28 by Joe L. of Orangeburg, SC United States
Updated on 2017-04-04
Review of stay from 2017-03-24 to 2017-03-26
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
With a suite on all three floors the Firefly has a great layout with good privacy for several people. The location was convenient to Black Mountain which is a great little "mountain town". The cabin has great privacy and a pleasant view. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Manager response on 2017-04-04 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Happy to hear you found Firefly Lodge to be fitting for your group! We'd love to welcome you back soon. - Greybeard Rentals team

Cozy Getaway

Reviewed on 2017-01-15 by Unknown of Carrollton, VA United States
Updated on 2017-01-18
Review of stay from 2016-12-23 to 2016-12-30
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great house for couples or families with older children. Beautiful home has a fabulous mountain view and is comfortable for a week's stay.
Manager response on 2017-01-18 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Wonderful! Thank you!

Great Stay!

Reviewed on 2016-08-12 by Unknown of wilmngton, DE United States
Updated on 2016-08-17
Review of stay from 2016-08-04 to 2016-08-07
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
It was very nice. We enjoyed our stay. I was surprised there were were no tupperware for food storage but outside of that, no big deal! The bears are smarter than the contractor that put up the trash can jail....lattice will not do the trick!!
Manager response on 2016-08-17 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thanks for the feedback on the stay at Firefly!

Great private cabin with a nice view.

Reviewed on 2016-07-29 by Unknown of Columbia, SC United States
Updated on 2016-08-03
Review of stay from 2016-07-23 to 2016-07-27
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had a wonderful relaxing time at Firefly Lodge. The cabin was very well equipped and comfortable. The kitchen had anything you needed and then some. The cabin lived up to it's name. We saw lots of fireflies at night. The staff at Greybeard rentals were awesome and quick to respond to our needs. We were lucky to have had several visits one day from a juvenile bear. We would highly recommend Firefly Lodge!
Manager response on 2016-08-03 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Sounds like a fun and exciting trip (especially with the bear visit)! Thank you for your compliments and feedback!

Great vacation at Firefly Lodge

Reviewed on 2016-07-26 by Brenda S. of Lexington, ky United States
Updated on 2016-07-28
Review of stay from 2016-07-14 to 2016-07-17
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The cabin was extremely nice and clean. It had many more amenities than mentioned. I would definitely stay here again and will refer this cabin to my friends.
Manager response on 2016-07-28 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Wonderful! Glad you were pleased with Firefly Lodge. Give Greybeard Rentals a call next time you're headed this way!

Summer getaway

Reviewed on 2016-07-12 by Janice Z. of Savannah, GA United States
Updated on 2016-07-13
Review of stay from 2016-07-02 to 2016-07-09
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We really enjoyed our stay in the cabin. It was very peaceful and relaxing. The view from the balcony was wonderful. We watched the clouds rise up from the mountains in the morning and watched the fireflies at night.
Manager response on 2016-07-13 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
That does sound like a peaceful visit. Happy to hear it was an enjoyable stay!

Black Mountain Hideaway

Reviewed on 2016-07-12 by Unknown of Winston, GA United States
Updated on 2016-07-13
Review of stay from 2016-06-15 to 2016-06-19
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Firefly Lodge. It's convenient to the town of Black Mountain, the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Folk Art Center. Three bedrooms, two en suite bathrooms, a third full bath on ground floor, and two half baths. Nice kitchen and living area on main, game room on ground floor, and a cozy loft sitting area on the third floor. The breezy porches were great for reading. I highly recommend this lovely cabin!
Manager response on 2016-07-13 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
That's wonderful! Glad you enjoyed it! Come back for another visit soon!

great service

Reviewed on 2016-03-15 by Jonathan W. of Johnson City, TN United States
Updated on 2016-03-23
Review of stay from 2016-03-11 to 2016-03-13
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Very professional rental service. I will say things were not ideal with the cabin, some repairs were needed but the owners and greybeard were accommodating and I really appreciate their prompt care and answering my service calls quickly and professionally. I will be back! thank you for handling our issues like the top notch agency you are.
Manager response on 2016-03-23 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Sorry that things didn't go according to plan during your stay at the home. Thanks for being understanding and giving us an opportunity to resolve the issues that did arise. We appreciate your review and compliments!!

Awesome

Reviewed on 2016-01-10 by Unknown of Hialeah, FL United States
Updated on 2016-01-21
Review of stay from 2015-12-29 to 2016-01-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Great home,cozy, clean, nicely furnished, well equipped
Manager response on 2016-01-21 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Good! Thanks for the review.

Birthday Weekend

Reviewed on 2015-11-10 by Austin J. of Raleigh, NC United States
Updated on 2015-11-14
Review of stay from 2015-11-06 to 2015-11-08
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
We had 8 adults stay in this very charming home and we had a wonderful weekeend! There was plenty of space and everything was in good condition. It's a little further from Asheville than we hoped but we still were able to enjoy one nice day exploring Asheville. Thank you!
Manager response on 2015-11-14 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Glad it was a good time! Thanks for the feedback.

Perfect birthday getaway

Reviewed on 2015-11-10 by Unknown of Hixson, TN United States
Updated on 2015-11-14
Review of stay from 2015-10-23 to 2015-10-25
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The cabin was very close to downtown Asheville. It was very CLEAN and accommodating. The staff at the main office were wonderful!
Manager response on 2015-11-14 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Oh good! Glad it was a good birthday celebration and that you enjoyed the stay. Give Greybeard Rentals a call on your next visit!

Great place

Reviewed on 2015-08-02 by Unknown of Wake Forest, NC United States
Updated on 2015-08-04
Review of stay from 2015-07-28 to 2015-07-31
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Highly recommended
Manager response on 2015-08-04 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Glad you enjoyed the stay. Thanks!

Firefly

Reviewed on 2015-07-15 by Larry G. of Savage, MN United States
Updated on 2015-07-20
Review of stay from 2015-06-25 to 2015-06-28
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Rented for wedding in nearby Black Mountain.Fun location, great view, deck on every level.Had every thing we needed..
Manager response on 2015-07-20 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear! Thanks for staying with us!

Heaven Sent

Reviewed on 2015-04-08 by Tracie D. of Cornelius, NC United States
Updated on 2015-04-10
Review of stay from 2015-04-03 to 2015-04-06
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Spent Easter weekend with friends and family! This beautiful cabin was immaculate and spacious! The views added to the weekend! Fully stocked and very well maintained! Check in and out was a breeze! Planning a return visit as I write this!! Great Job Greybeard!
Manager response on 2015-04-10 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thank you! We're glad you had such a good stay!

It was a good stay!

Reviewed on 2014-11-06 by Unknown of Atlanta, GA United States
Updated on 2014-11-06
Review of stay from 2014-10-31 to 2014-11-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The cabin was decorated with a lot of cute little items. When we first walked we felt welcomed. The kitchen comes with a lot of cookware. We made food and really enjoyed having meals in the cabin. Also, it's at a great location. We spent some time in Asheville and Blue Ridge Parkway.

Some things we noticed could be improved in the cabin are the condiments and towels. There were some expired vegetable oil, olive oil, and sugar. Some towels were not clean and had holes.
Overall, it was still a good experience to stay in Firefly.
Manager response on 2014-11-06 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Glad you enjoyed the cabin and the location! The Parkway was beautiful around the time of your visit. I'm going to send your note about the towels to the property owner. The oils, sugar, etc., do not come standard with our vacation rentals - they were likely left by previous guests, but that is helpful to know so that we can dispose of those items. Thank you!

Awesome experience with Greybeard at black mountain

Reviewed on 2014-10-28 by Guo H. of Chapel Hill, NC United States
Updated on 2014-10-29
Review of stay from 2014-10-24 to 2014-10-26
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
Firefly Lodge is definitely the place worth living. we got a palatable pumpkin bread the first day of check-in. what a sweet surprise!
the house has 3 floors that at least can hold 3 couples. Each bedroom is decorated lovely, comfy and has its own bathroom. I booked this lodge for parents and me and boyfriend, but because of family emergency, only me and boyfriend got to go. the house is too big for just two of us but it is still a wonderful experience especially after a haunted house night, lol! The property is in the mountain so it is easy to see stars at night when the weather is clear. if you come in winter, be careful about the drive-thru since it is sloping.
you can get everything from the full kitchen. some plates and cups are not very clean they are good to use after re-wash.
overall, it is a wonderful experience to stay there. hope next year we can stay in Firefly longer!
Manager response on 2014-10-29 - Response from Greybeard Rentals
That's great that Firefly met your expectations! I've taken note of the dishes. We do hope you make it back next year like you mentioned! Looking forward to it.

Black Mountain family vacation

Reviewed on 2014-08-04 by Debbi f. of Franklin, PA United States
Updated on 2014-08-04
Review of stay from 2014-07-26 to 2014-08-02
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The cabin was beautiful and Greybeard was so helpful and just wonderful to work with! We were only about 10 minutes from town but yet seemed very remote. The cabin was easy to get to and although we could hear some road noise (you can't see the road from the cabin)
it was a side road so there wasn't a lot of traffic. Each bedroom was on a separate floor with their own full bathroom plus there were 2 half baths. There is lots of space to spread out: large decks, living room; the game room in the basement and the sitting area in the loft. The dining area is a bit tight but with the counter and stools we had plenty of room. The cabin was very clean, the only issue we had was not enough towels and washcloths were there when we arrived. However Greybeard was prompt to get us more when I asked and even brought them out to us. In town has some wonderful shops and excellent restaurants. Only problem is the shops all close at 5 but the restaurants were open late. Town is easy to get around in and we loved the small town feel. The location is central to everything we wanted to do - Biltmore, Grandfather Mountain, Chimney Rock,.... Be warned, the drive way is a bit steep! We would definitely book this cabin through them again!

Great time at a great cabin

Reviewed on 2014-06-27 by Daniel C. of San Diego, CA United States
Updated on 2014-06-27
Review of stay from 2014-06-08 to 2014-06-11
Overall satisfaction
Services from rental manager
Cleanliness
Location
Property condition
Recommend to Others
The cabin was clean, spacious and in a good location at a great price. If I come back to the Asheville area, I would definitely stay here again.