You are here

Cloud Nine

Beds/Baths

3 BR
3.5 BA
Guest Reviews
4.9167
4.9167 (12 guest reviews)

Location

  • Old Fort
Age 18 and under.

Occupancy

Sleeps 6

Bedding

BR 1 - Master bedroom with King Bed and en suite bathroom (main floor)
BR 2 - King Bed (upper level)
BR 3 - Queen Bed (upper level)
Extra- Two sets of bunk beds (lower level), Full sleeper Sofa in bunk room, full size futon (lower level)

Description

Cloud Nine is a stunning custom built mountain home with breathtaking mountain views of the Blue Ridge Mountain Range and the Pisgah National Forest. Located on Gateway Mountain-3000 acre gated community w/private lake, waterfall, hiking. This vacation home is secluded and has over 4000 square feet of luxury living. This is a perfect getaway for family and friends. Wait until you see the beautiful sunrises from the deck and screened porch. It is located 30 minutes from downtown Marion, Black Mountain and 45 minutes from Asheville. The property has lots of parking but 4WD/AWD vehicles are recommended.

Cloud Nine includes a spectacular two-story Great Room featuring a wall of windows and a lovely stone wood burning fireplace with a gas starter. The luxury oversize kitchen will accommodate cooking for large groups. The house features abundant sleeping including a first floor Master bedroom, two bedrooms on the second floor, a bunk room on the ground floor sleeping six and a pull-out double bed in a separate room. The ground floor also features a home theater and a game room with shuffleboard, bumper pool and darts.

House Layout:
Main floor-Great room with wood burning fireplace, dining area, office, half bath, master bedroom with king and en suite bath (shower only), screened porch
Upstairs - Bedroom with King, bedroom with Queen, full hall bath
Downstairs: Bedroom with 2 sets bunk beds, Queen sleeper sofa in den, full size futon, full hall bath, den with TV
Come and enjoy all that Nature has to offer!

Up to two dogs are welcome in Cloud Nine during your stay for an extra fee. Due to the owner allergies, regretfully no cats are allowed.

Amenities

Living

  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens
  • Washer & Dryer
  • Wireless Internet (Wifi)
  • Fireplace
  • Pet Friendly
  • King size bed
  • Easy Entry
  • Wood Fireplace

Outdoor

  • Deck
  • Patio
  • Gas Grill
  • View
  • Nearby Waterfall

Geographic

  • Secluded
  • Private
  • Creek/Lake
  • 4WD/AWD Recommended

Entertainment

  • Satellite TV
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room

FAQ

WHERE IS THIS HOUSE LOCATED?

Cloud Nine is located in Old Fort. This home is approximately 30 minutes to Black Mountain and Marion, and approximately 45 minutes to Asheville. Click on the location tab above to locate this house on a map.

WHAT IS YOUR REFUND/CANCELLATION POLICY?

If you need to cancel your reservation and the property you had reserved re-rents for the time which you had it reserved, you will be refunded all money you had paid minus an $89 cancellation fee. If you cancel and the property does not re-rent for your reserved dates, you will lose all money you have paid to that point. For this reason, we recommend that you purchase trip insurance. Please call 888-228-8008 before making a reservation if you have questions or concerns.

WHAT IS YOUR PET POLICY AND FEE?

Cloud Nine is specified as "pet friendly" and dogs are allowed. Unfortunately, due to common allergy problems we cannot allow cats. For the privilege of bringing your dog, there is a minimum charge of $100 nonrefundable fee per pet. A maximum of two dogs are allowed unless you have received special permission from the property manager or homeowner. Any damage that may be caused by your pet during your stay will be paid for out of your security deposit or charged to the credit card we have on file. There is a county-wide leash law in place. When taking your dog outside of a gated area, please ensure that they are on a leash.

WHAT ARE CHECK-IN/CHECK OUT TIMES?

Check-in time is 4pm and check out time is 10am. It is important that we adhere to these times, because there is a chance that someone else will be checking out/in before or after you and we need sufficient time to ready the house for the next renter. If you wish to check-in early, there is a $50 early check-in fee that can be added on to your reservation. Early check-in is only available if someone is not checking out on the morning of your arrival.

WHERE DO WE CHECK-IN/PICK UP KEYS?

Cloud Nine is located in a gated community. You must go to our Old Fort Office at 78 D Catawba Ave. to pick up your gate card. Driving directions to our Old Fort Office, along with access instructions will be sent out via email. Once you have picked up your gate card, you can proceed to the house. Please do not rely on GPS. We will provide you with driving directions to Cloud Nine from our Old Fort Office. Included in the driving directions, will be instructions on how to access the house. 

WHAT IF THERE IS AN EMERGENCY DURING OUR STAY?

If you are having a medical emergency, dial 911 from the phone in your rental home or cell phone.

We hope that your stay in the area will be relaxing and without incident, but should you need to get in touch with Greybeard, we have someone on call 24 hours a day. Just call our office at 828-669-1072 and dial extension 203, which will forward to the cell phone of the person on call. Please do not hesitate to call us if something needs immediate attention, but if your question or concern can wait, we ask that you call the office during normal office hours.

WILL THERE BE FIREWOOD AT THE HOUSE?

Cloud Nine has a wood burning fireplace for guests to use. Firewood is not supplied by Greybeard. Some houses will have a small supply of firewood for renter use; however, it is best to purchase your own small bundle of wood or Duraflame pressed logs at the local grocery store. If your rental home has an operable wood fireplace or wood stove, you can purchase our Guest Services Firewood Bundle package and have firewood and fire-starting materials awaiting you upon your arrival from October through the winter months. 

Cutting branches, limbs or trees on the property is strictly prohibited. You can use limbs found on the ground. Absolutely NO fires are permitted outside unless the property is fitted with a fire ring/fire pit, which is not provided at Cloud Nine. You cannot bring your own portable fire pit. 

IS WIFI SERVICE INCLUDED WITH MY RENTAL RESERVATION? WILL I HAVE CELL PHONE SERVICE AT MY RENTAL?

Wifi is available at Cloud Nine. Please note that Greybeard Rentals does not guarantee internet connectivity or speed. Each individual homeowner contracts directly with an internet service provider, and due to a variety of reasons, Greybeard does not guarantee service. Our Black Mountain and Asheville offices have wifi service available if needed.

Cell phone service is not guaranteed. You may check with your service provider to see if service is available.

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Rates

DatesNightlyWeeklyMonthly
05/29/19 - 06/30/19$359$1,796
07/01/19 - 08/20/19$399$1,995
08/21/19 - 08/29/19$359$1,795
08/30/19 - 09/03/19$399
09/04/19 - 09/30/19$359$1,795
10/01/19 - 10/06/19$399
10/07/19 - 11/03/19$399$1,995
11/04/19 - 11/21/19$319$1,595
11/22/19 - 12/03/19$399$1,995
12/04/19 - 12/20/19$319$1,595
12/21/19 - 01/03/20$399$1,995
01/04/20 - 04/08/20$319$1,595$3,990 - $4,123
04/09/20 - 04/13/20$399
04/14/20 - 05/10/20$319$1,595

Location

Get Directions

Reviews

Amazing Stay!

Reviewed on 2018-10-31 by from Charlotte, NC United States
Updated on 2018-10-31
Review of stay from 2018-10-25 to 2018-10-28
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
We had a fantastic stay at Cloud Nine. The house is absolutely beautiful. It was so great to wake up to such an amazing view each morning. The property is fantastic and the house was warm and welcoming. My only critique is that it would be helpful to make prospective renters aware of the steep gravel driveway at the time of booking and that it requires a 4x4 or AWD vehicle to reach the top. I didn't have that information until the day before my trip. I had to drive my car in reverse up the hill in order to reach the house. But, knowing what I know now, I would absolutely stay there again.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Thank you for the feedback. Yes, we do recommend 4WD or AWD in the web description - great point to highlight! I'm glad you enjoyed the stay!

Awesome view

Reviewed on 2018-08-04 by from Gastonia, NC United States
Updated on 2018-08-04
Review of stay from 2018-07-27 to 2018-07-31
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
The house was very clean. The furniture was very comfortable as was the beds. I can’t say enough about the beautiful views. Sunset is breath taking. And we enjoyed the screened in porch. You could stay outside even when it rains or if the bugs are bad. One of my favorite vacation houses
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear that you were happy with Cloud 9! It's a great home! Thanks for leaving your feedback.

Serenity awaits...

Reviewed on 2018-07-29 by from Ocean View, NJ United States
Updated on 2018-07-29
Review of stay from 2018-07-20 to 2018-07-27
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Amazing views! Very private and tranquil. Enjoy an early morning cup of coffee on the deck and appreciate the beautiful view and incredible sunrise!
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm glad you enjoyed a peaceful stay at Cloud 9. Sounds like some great advice for enjoying that stunning view!

FAMILY VACATION

Reviewed on 2018-07-11 by from Va.Beach, VA United States
Updated on 2018-07-11
Review of stay from 2018-06-30 to 2018-07-07
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
This was our second year back to the Ashville,NC area.
We also stayed at Cloud 9 last year as well. We had such a great experience staying in this rental home we decided to stay in Cloud 9 this year.
Upon arrival to the home we have not ever been disappointment. Upon entering the house you obtain a very warm welcoming feeling, with a display of flowers, baked bread, and a fresh clean environment. This home also welcomes pets. Not once did we experience any odor from other pets staying at the house.
The only draw back is that there really is no place for your children to go outside and play, but I guess after a day of hiking and sightseeing does this really matter. :)
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm so glad you were pleased in your second stay at Cloud Nine! It's a great home. Sounds like you had a nice time. We hope to welcome you back for a third stay soon!

Paradise

Reviewed on 2018-07-03 by from JACKSONVILLE, FL United States
Updated on 2018-07-03
Review of stay from 2018-06-23 to 2018-06-30
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
This was the most awesome experience of our lives! The house was fantastic and the surrounding view is nothing short of spectacular.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great!! We love to hear that. I'm glad you had an incredible time at Cloud Nine.

A wonderful stay on Cloud Nine

Reviewed on 2018-06-18 by from Raleigh, NC United States
Updated on 2018-06-18
Review of stay from 2018-06-09 to 2018-06-16
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
We really enjoyed this beautiful house. It was the most well-appointed and well-supplied house we have ever rented in the mountains or the beach. They thought of everything, including a built-in sound system. This house has been their "dream home, " and it obviously was built with lots of extras and luxuries you do not find in most homes that are available for rent. The views were spectacular, and we ate out on the back deck every every morning and evening, if it wasn't raining. The only drawback was the driveway at the very end is very steep, and we had a great deal of trouble getting up the final two turns. We do not have 4-wheel drive and neither did the other two drivers. If the road had been paved, this would not be a problem. If only the last two turns were paved, that would be a big help in getting to the top. I saw that this house is up for sale, and I know the owners must be heartbroken to leave it.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear that you were pleased with the amenities and furnishings at Cloud Nine as well as that beautiful view. Thanks for taking some time to leave this helpful feedback!

Amazing views; beautiful home...

Reviewed on 2018-05-31 by from Banner Elk, NC United States
Updated on 2018-05-31
Review of stay from 2018-05-26 to 2018-05-29
Overall Satisfaction
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5
We really enjoyed our stay at Cloud Nine; perfectly clean, beautiful home with a nice movie theatre and game room. The kitchen is very functional and we enjoyed the screened in porch with amazing views.
This is a remote location; our 4 wheel drive Subaru was right at home but our friends front wheel drive SUV did have some difficulty coming up the driveway, but it was pouring rain as well.
Overall, we enjoyed the solitude of the location and the house was very comfortable.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm glad you were pleased with your stay at Cloud Nine! Sounds wonderful! - Greybeard Rentals team

Great honeymoon getaway!!!

Reviewed on 2018-03-20 by from Odessa, FL United States
Updated on 2018-03-20
Review of stay from 2018-03-12 to 2018-03-18
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
My husband and I vacationed at cloud 9. It was a perfect view. The house was beautiful and very well done. The bed was so comfortable. We explored the neighborhood and went to the waterfall and lake which was awesome. We would stay again in a heartbeat.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear that you loved your stay at Cloud Nine! Thanks for the feedback. We'd be delighted to welcome you back.

Amazing getaway

Reviewed on 2017-10-08 by from Zebulon, NC United States
Updated on 2017-10-08
Review of stay from 2017-10-01 to 2017-10-06
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Our stay at cloud nine was peaceful, serene, relaxing and felt like home! Perfect getaway to reconnect with each other and recharge. The views are breathtaking and serve the soul like no other.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Great to hear! Thanks for your feedback on your getaway to Cloud Nine.

Great Property

Reviewed on 2017-09-14 by from Sunny Isles Beach, FL United States
Updated on 2017-09-14
Review of stay from 2017-09-08 to 2017-09-12
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5
Great experience. Amazing property.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
Happy to hear this! Come back soon! - Greybeard Rentals

Cloud 9

Reviewed on 2017-09-06 by from Jacksonville, FL United States
Updated on 2017-09-06
Review of stay from 2017-08-31 to 2017-09-04
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
3
Property condition
5
Gorgeous home with breathtaking view. Four wheel drive is REQUIRED, not just recommended! Take the time to explore the community. Very nice lake and waterfall on site.
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Cloud 9! Thanks for the feedback! The driveway there is very steep and gravel, but it is technically not one of the homes that would require 4WD -- we just recommend that guests put their cars 'in low and go' with consistent acceleration as it can be a bit daunting otherwise.

Family Vacation

Reviewed on 2017-07-10 by from Va.Beach, VA United States
Updated on 2017-07-10
Review of stay from 2017-07-01 to 2017-07-08
Overall Satisfaction
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
3
Property condition
5
My vacation started out rough with a house canceling out at the last min. through VRBO. I found Cloud 9 through Greybeard Rentals for the exact dates I needed one week prior to leaving. The ladies at Greybeard were so helpful and understanding. Your stay at Cloud 9 was exactly like being on Cloud 9. The home was beautiful and the view breath taking. I will defiantly use Greybeard Rentals for my next visit to Ashville,NC Thank you so much
Manager response - Response from Greybeard Rentals
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Cloud Nine! The view really is stunning! We look forward to welcoming you next time. -Greybeard Rental's team